Thread: Wello Report 11th Dec

aquarius

Wello Report 11th Dec

Hi Ausfishers and Guests, Jim and I Headed out once again to our favourite haunt to chase a few Squire & Grass Sweetlip.
    On the water before sunrise and soaking the plastics.
    A few small squire around but bites were few and far between.
    My first fish was a nice 45cm cod which after a couple of pics i released to fight another day.
    Wind was 10 knots S/E early but freshened to a good 15 by mid morning.
    2 hours before low tide my zoom fluke got nailed and after some fast runs i boated a nice keeper squire that went 47cms.
    Jim had a couple of fish take off towards Peel and then twang the line breaks..........8lb trace is risky but you do land the odd bigger fish now and then.
    We also kept 3 grassies just above legal size but must say the fishing today was pretty ordinary.
    Long time between bites.
    We watched turtles eat jellyfish and we also saw a spectacular sight when a dolphin launched itself into mid air.....Who needs to go to Seaworld..lol
    Met up with Ausfisher Red speckle at the boat ramp...........Mate it was good to have a chat with you.
    Not the best tide to fish Wello this weekend but lookout we will be back soon to dong a few more squire, sweetlip etc.
    Took a pic of the big mouth cod before release.
    Cheers Brent

Re: Wello Report 11th Dec

great catch mate havent seen a cod out their in ages what plastics were u usin

aquarius

Mate there's a few Cod around Wello.......sometimes we get a couple in a session.......they just love plastics !!!!
    Plastics used today were 4" zoom fluke baby bass, strike king 5", assassins 3" baby bass and berkley 3" gulp grub tails in pumpkinseed. 1/8TH Jigheads.
    Cheers Brent

G'day Brent - I fished it this morning for a very ordinary few hours. Not even a grinner!

aquarius

G,Day Neil, Mate we only got 1 grinner all morning...........very strange considering last year the grinners were in plague proportions..........maybe the mackerel are feasting on them..........lets hope so..lol
    Next weekend i reckon the place will fireup.
    Cheers Brent

bring on the bloodbath Brent

Hello Brent
    Its good to see that you got some keeper's. Its very how the Squire have just not on the bite ATM. Well heres to next week.

Nice report Brent. We have also noticed the lack of grinners at the moment as compared to the plague of them last year. Last year they were everywhere. Now that I have mentioned it I will probably catch a boatload of them grinning buggars next weekend!! Seems to be alot of cod around at present we have also been averaging a few a trip. They make a good change. We even managed one on a big hardbody lure that we were trolling for mackeral.
    Might see you out there next weekend

Nathan

Quote Originally Posted by Lager
    Nice report Brent. We have also noticed the lack of grinners at the moment as compared to the plague of them last year. Last year they were everywhere. Now that I have mentioned it I will probably catch a boatload of them grinning buggars next weekend!!
    they must have moved south, there were heaps of the bastards out off the goldie on saturday

Nice work!!
    It was quiet on Saturday as well. Myself and Touchy did the trek accross to Peel and Bird & Goat for one just under squire.
    Mike and Hamish stayed at Wello and got 3 squire to 43cm, and a legal sweetie.
    Bring on next weekend!!

redspeckle

Brent
    Like wise too was to meet you and have a chat and thanks help with the boat on to trailer
    You always seem do well those's plastics got the knack to do it and I am still a bait person may covert to soft plastics one day but don't how they go on offshore reef's over 30 fathoms Deep
    Mitch