Thread: Broadwater Landbased Bream and Flathead on SP

Broadwater Landbased Bream and Flathead on SP

hey everyone and happy new year to you all Well i went down the goldie for a day with my sister and dear old mum on the 30th for a swim and of course i chucked in my rod and SP's as the opporunity for a fish had clearly presented itself, hadn't fished much down the broadwater(still haven't) so decided that i had to suss it out while i had the chance, not sure where we were exactly but it was just down from the grand hotel, anyway all i can say is there was ALOT of boat traffic being the 30th and all, but still managed a surprisingly good feed IMHO under the conditions, the biggest bream went 36cm and the flattie was around 55-60cm. All fish caught using SP's landbased.

Re: Broadwater Landbased Bream and Flathead on SP

Not Bad for landbased mate. Especially with all the boaties

a couple of bream...

the best bream for the day at 36cm

the best flatty i caught, ready to be eaten, i actually caught 3 in 3 casts at one stage but the others were very small.

cheers rod i was also surprised considering the amount of traffic, the jetskis are by far the worst, some of the riders are just inconsiderate tossers and i reckon it comes from the fact that they think they cant be touched cos they're flying around pretty quickly, well i can assure you thats not true after the other day, i had an incident with a guy who i assume was drunk because of his behaviour, or perhaps he saw i was keen for some target practice, anyway he ended up copping a nasty whack on the head after doing doughnuts right in front of me where i was fishing then giving me the ups and laughing. Somehow a nice round stone became dislodged from the sand and somehow flew into the side of his head knocking him off his ride, he struggled got back on and looked a little unsure as to where he was exactly, luckily i had my fishing knife and was able to point him back in the right direction, a little overboard perhaps but during the holiday season i like to go that extra mile and "reach out" to the people, that's me, a real people person

gogecko

Well done nemo. Its good to know there are some considerate fishos out there, always willing to give the jetskiers some 'advice'. I love it.

Thats a good little flathead spot on that strectch of sand, I know it well. A mate of mine pulled a 1m in there last summer. The fish seem to adapt to the traffic.

great stuff nemo! some beaut fish there mate! well done.

cuzza

nabs12

wow nice fish...i did the exact same thing u did...my mum n my sis went for a swim n i went for a fish.
    onli difference is that i caught nuthin

Sounds like a great session NeMo, what plastic did the damage?

Quote Originally Posted by JT
    Sounds like a great session NeMo, what plastic did the damage?

I think it was a rock that did that!!!

Good onya Carlos! I'll call ya later to see if you wanna do a bash again this arvo.

thanks guys, JT the plastic that did the damage was a 3" Bass Minnow in emerald shiner, and yeh thanks for the invite Dan but i was feelin like crap today, best of luck tomorrow, hope to see some nice fish in ur report
    Carlos.