Thread: North Pine River - how not to trailer a boat!

North Pine River - how not to trailer a boat!

Hi all!
    Fished the pine last night starting around 5pm... I intended to spend the night but revised my decision after realising my long nose pliers should really be called my "not quite long enough" nose pliers courtesy of one rather peeved catfish.
    Anyway.. iced it up and decided to head back to the ramp, get home and sort it out..
    Have to admit.. it hurt alot! :-)
    Got back, reversed the jackaroo down the ramp, winched the boat 3/4 on and the car and trailer start sliding back into the drink.. I raced toward the front, but slipped as I slowed to jump in the cab the result being my left foot becoming trapped under the front tyre, and the whole lot still moving backwards. I was kind of twisted and half under the truck when I managed to hit the brake pedal with my right hand (yes.. the hand the catfish got good!) not that I noticed any pain in my hand at that stage! :-)
    I'm not sure if it was my hand on the brake pedal or the fact that the trailer had jack-knifed that stopped the whole lot including me going in... but I was stuck with the front wheel of a jackaroo on my left foot and shin, my right hand on the brake and the tide coming in..!
    What did I do?? Summoning superhuman effort I managed the gargantuan task of swallowing my pride and screamed for help!
    Within what seemed like hours (in fact 30-40secs.) Some guys fishing from the bank arrived, and one (Jason) managed to climb into the cab. Despite my shouting directions , and my hand on the brake he managed to work his feet around me and ease the car off me...
    This guy was ice under pressure! You'd swear he does it everyday!
    Once free, a couple of other guys helped me up the ramp and sat me down.. I realised I wouldn't be able to get back up if I allowed it to stiffen up, so i got up walked around, and with help., managed to secure the boat (after seeing the tow arm was bent!).
    I drove home before the adrenaline could wear off and the pain really hit and got my brother to meet me, secure the boat and car etc..
    End result:
    one badly bruised left foot minus about 1/3 of it's skin, nothing broken
    One left ankle with strained tendons.. but otherwise complete!
    one bent trailer drawbar.

All in all I'd say Fish 50 million Me zip!

One things for sure the new years gotta start better than this one ends!

Cheers guys!
    Jason

Re: North Pine River - how not to trailer a boat!

It sounds like a bad day for this Lucky things work out it could have been alot worse.

Touch wood

Yeah could have been worst.

Speedy recovery to u too

Juicy

What no pics,

Only joking, As a positive it can only get better for the new year.

All the best!!!!

Ray

land_based

Terrible stroke of bad luck there mate, things can only get better from here, or one could only hope so! Look forward to future reports from the north pine!

Unlucky Jason That's normally the case when one thing goes wrong (the catty spike). Then it starts a chain of disasters. That spiking could have had you hallucintaing and you may wake up and find that it really didn't happen

Better luck for the new year mate.

bloody hell jason, what a pi##er! just went from bad to worse. main thing is youre ok, but crikes what a shocker of a trip1 i thought i had some rippers! unreal. with the catties, i find the best way is to just grab their bottom lip with your thumb and forefinger, and steadily work the hook out with the other hand. hesn't let me down yet. my first cattie spike was just at castle hill - so i reckon theyre a mean lot in the pine! went through my boot and all! as for the ramp, bloody unreal luck there mate! who woulda thought. but im sure youre gonna laugh about it soon enough, so thats something i guess. but yeah, roll on better luck for ya next year!

cuzza

Hi guys!
    I'm laughing about it already!
    I mean, I got off easy! A little healing and a couple hours work on the trailer and I'm back where I started... Chasing bullies in the pine! Elusive buggers! Should've thrown a line in after the blood I spilt :-)
    I reckon you're right about those catties cuzza! This B@stard got me right between the fingers! Spike went in a ways too! He knew what he was doing...

Rule #1 Catties never enter the boat
    Rule #2 Never try to retrieve your hook. Just cut the line.

These have been my catfish rules ever since I got a spike in my thumb.

What a story. Glad you are ok (well,,,, sort of ok).

WOW Jas,

You are a very lucky chappie, go and get yourself a lottery ticket! If you don't I will!

BTW was the boat ramp slippery because of weed/slime? If so, ring the local council as I believe it's their responsibility.

Similar thing happened to me down here, my ute went for a bit of a slide on the Coffs ramp (I always chock one of the wheels now).... to their credit, they were onto it the very next day at low tide with a high pressure spray.

Best of luck (I don't think you need any)

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Wow mate that story is a beauty , sorry to hear of you misfortune and I hope you have a speedy recovery, I can just imagine your panic as you slid down that ramp with the car on your leg.

Can some one tell me if a public facility like that ramp should be sufficiently clean to allow safe retrieval without fear of such an incident.
    rando
    PS
    Jason all the best for the new year!!

The_Walrus

Hi Jason,

Coud have been a lot worse. After that episode there should be good trips coming up

I would'nt hold my breath waiting for the council to clean the ramp(s).

After one slipping incident at the Leis park ramp, I now carry a tow strap to use on slipery ramps.

That tow strap is a bloody great idea! Next purchase I make!
    Thanks!

Jason

Thanks all for your well wishes!
    I'm enjoying a nice quiet night with my feet up... well one up ;-) and thought I'd log on th say:
    Happy new year to all and may all your wishes be fishes!

Jason!

awwwww..come on Jason...you had one sore hand and a foot under the truck...what were you doing with the other hand and foot..that is what you were given 2 of each for....use em buddy.

Quick recovery mate.