Thread: Coomera crab

gogecko

Coomera crab

Last nite I tried a few spots that I know hold jacks between Santa barbara and Jabiru Is. Im using a few techniques, but started with livies under a small balloon. Second cast of the net and we come up with a mudcrab? Quick check, and hes legal, so in the esky, first mudcrab for me too.

Lots of rain from 11pm on, but no jacks. Did a troll along a rock bank and got busted off by a big unknown. Hey trollers, do you keep the drag full on tight on a troll, or ease off a little?

Does a muddie count as fish? Should I be happy? Maybe I should invest in some pots.

11 jack sessions in the early hours, and still not one in the boat this summer. The main problem seems to be getting close to structure with anchor and current. I need an electric motor I think. This jacks gonna cost me thousands by the time I get him.

Re: Coomera crab

I troll with my drag as tight as I can get it, be carefull not to troll too far back because then the fish has too might play too go to the side and brick you . Rather start off trolling fairly short and if you dont get a hit try a bit furthur back. You gotta be quick mate as soon as the fish hits then shoot away from the structure with the outboard. If you have got good heavy duty hooks on like the gamakatsu treble 16's and good knots then everything should hold. Its not really very sportsmanlike fishing but hey a jack isnt a very sportsmanlike fish.

Good Luck
    Rod

gogecko

Thx Rod. Is 30-40 ft too far back? I was moving away from structure when it hit. I thought I was quick, but he was quicker, and it was all over in 1-2 secs. He managed to find something rocky to cut the braid on. The hooks are heavy duty Owner trebles, and I trust my 'double grinner' knots as I test them well.

Someone here once posted a good tip about putting your hooks into the back fence at home, then leaning back on the rod and rig to see if it can support your own bodyweight, so thats how I learned to trust knots.

I have had 3 fish bust me off above the leader lately. I suppose this is to be expected when fishing close to structure. I use a 70cm length of 30lb flurocarbon. Might go down to 20lb, as I see you use that weight. I reckon the lures might swim more natrually, especially the SPs.

When I troll I dont use less than 30lb and normally one and a half times the length of the rod or a bit longer depending how deep I am fishing. Some of the big jacks have chewed the leader up but havent got to the braid so i could land them. The area you are fishing is very foul so I would go 50lb leader and twice the length of my rod. If the leader affects the depth the lure runs too much then just tow a deeper diver mate. At the end of the day having a better chance of landing the fish is more important than the lures action being retarded. As long as you can feel the lure vibrating on the rod tip its all good.
    Give that a go and you should hopefully get one to the boat.

nice muddie andrew but bad l uck with the purple boys! kev's the man with the results for trolling, so i'd take heed of his advice! as they always say mate, hang in there, cos after you get your first, the rest'll come easier! and no feeling is better than pulling in your first big mr red! keep at it mate, and keep us posted. keep trying different spots too mate. i tried a newby over the break and pulled seven legals in two nights (biggest went 51cm). i used to stay faithful to a coupla haunts, but i'm starting to really try different areas now for great results/ if nothing else, you'll learn about a particular system quite thoroughly - as jacks are so elusive, and hence take some finding! enjoy it mate.

cuzza