-
Flathead baits
Can someone tell me what the best bait is for flathead? I don't like soft plastics much...
-Flounder-
-
Re: Flathead baits
Blue or white pillies have worked for me, also some nice fresh mullet or Pike fillets let them have the bait for a bit b4 you hook them too as they tend to play with there food a bit. I reckon if you drifted over a good flathead bank with a plastic hanging out the back you would get one without the normal work of the plastics!! I know on occasions i have trolled at my lowest speed on the electric with a heavy jighead and 3' powerbait on and caught plenty of Flattys! but you have to find them i think thats the biggest issue.
Brandon.
-
Yeah finding them is always the hardest part because they just sit waiting for something to go over them instead of swimming around finding the food.
-Flounder-
-
i used to use yakka fillets in Sydney(northern beaches)
the jetty we fished off was packed with the suckers....used the smaller ones for live bait(dory)..and the larger ones were either released...or filleted for Flatties
cant see why it wouldnt be the same in Brisvegas
other than that..use livies up here
-