Thread: Queenies, Bream and GTS in the Tweed.

Queenies, Bream and GTS in the Tweed.

Hi All

Catching the trevs on Monday definateley gave me a bit more get up and go so decoded to make an early start this morning and go for a jack fish. Got up at 230 loaded the car and tried to hook the boat. Couldnt move the boat and after closer inspection saw that I had a flat tyre. I had to then unpack the car to get the jack YAY then as I start loosening wheel nuts it starts raining > . This all on my birthday.I thought I was a good boy whats with all the curve balls. So on goes the spare let the jack down and the spare is flat too . Oh well re pack the car drive slowly to the servo and pump the tyre. I finally got on the water just before daybreak and chucked the lure out to have a troll for a jack. After a while I got the feeling that something isnt right, there wasnt any bait flicking basically no sign of life. I decided to have a closer look so scratched out the torch and had a look at the water. It was like MUD . A change of plan was definateley rquired so i raced down towards the mouth area in search of some clearer water on the run in tide. I tried a few spots and just on daybreak dound a patch of fish busting on the surface. I couldnt seem to get a hit and eventually cut my 2 inch minnow down to a half inch minnow rigged on the smallest jighead I had in my bag. First chuck and I hooked one of the culprets. It was a small queenfish, my first in the Tweed. I caught a heap of them after that and decided to go and look for something else. I fished a few of the nearby pontoons and managed to pin a few bream the biggest going 37cm. At least the fishing was making up for the poor start. I was re rigging the bream rod when a few fish started busting up out from the bank. I grabbed my other stick with a popper and shot it at them, immediate hook up. I fiesty liitle bigeye trev was released. I waited for them to show themselves again but didnt so went back to casting the pontoons. Next cast I got snagged on something that started to move and I pulled in a fishing rod and reel . GEEZ talk about a day for the species . Someone must have lost it recently cos everything was working fine. I then got a moses perch off the next pontoon but the constant rain started to put a damper on things. I decided to head home cos the day had definateley turned out great. On the way back to the ramp i came up to some birds working a colour change with mullet flying everywhere. Out went the softie and I hooked a screamer. After a tough fight i netted a good size GT. Man does it get any better. Yup, 3 casts later and another gt takes off . This one was a bit smaller but ended an excellent mornings fishing. All I have to do now is stay awake at work long enough to have another crack at them tomorrow

Good fishing to you all

Rod

Re: Queenies, Bream and GTS in the Tweed.

The queenie

The 37cm bream

The GT

Nice report Rod! How good are the queenies and trevs, and dont you jsut love the bream! Howd the queenie fight? i caught one about 3 lb a couple of weeks ago at Noosa and it was launching itself non stop... great fun on the light gear!!!
    Jackash

They didnt jump but pulled hard for their size. Its a pity they dont get much bigger down here there were heaps of them.

Happy birthday.

DaneCross

Another top report Rod. Happy Birthday

Nice work mate They are top fish you caught
    HAPPY B'DAY [smiley=balloon2.gif]

Cheers Jay

Great report Rod I was thinking about heading down there soon to have a fish and now I think I will definately go . Hope I can find the same quality of fish when I come down what type of sp's were you using.

Caught most of the fish on berkley gulps today, the 2 and 3 inch grubs

Well done Rod another good report & happy birthday mate.

Matty

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROD! [smiley=laola.gif] What luck......did I say luck? I meant pure skill

Regards Kyle
    "Rather be fishing than doing homework"

Kyle

How you going mate, see you been getting into them lately well done

Rod

some lovely fish there Rod, in particular the bream and GT, im sure that GT woulda fought like hell on the light gear he looks pretty fat. Happy birthday mate and best of luck in future