Wello Saturday 28th

Thread: Wello Saturday 28th

Wello Saturday 28th

Met up with Mike at Wello boat ramp at 3.50am for an early morning plastic assault of the Wello and surrounding areas.
    Conditions were far from ideal with a breeze that got stronger all morning. > But this wasn't to deter us, and we persisted in our plan of attack. It paid off beautifully with a hot 2 hour session were fish were nearly every cast.
    We ended up with a mixed bag of 1 flathead (62cm), 6 keeper squire (48cm biggest), 4 keeper sweetlip (40cm biggest) and approximately 40 or more throw backs!!

Re: Wello Saturday 28th

One of the squire

Flathead

Result of a double hookup. This was the next cast after the flatty in the last pic.

aquarius

Well done Mate you got a good feed there in those lumpy conditions.
    The old Wello always produces even on rough days.
    That flattie is a ripper !!!
    We were thinking about Wello on Sunday and decided the shelter of Macleay was easier on the body..lol
    Cheers Brent

Very nice.

I'm pleased to see my (& Jonnos) plan to leave some fish for you after our trip Thurs morning paid off for you mate , We only managed 2 squire one in the 50's & one in the 40's, bit lumpy then as well but did get a chance to check out those marks you gave me,some rugged stuff there eh!, will certainly be floating a franger or two there soon., top session there Beefa. Cheers Touchy. ><> ><> ><>

Nice catch Darryl. I pulled the pin on my trip after looking out the window ... glad to see you were rewarded for being brave (or silly! ).
    Well done champ,
    Herby

Yeah, we didnt think it was silly till we were bobbing around in the swell, getting rained on, with no boats around at all....except the sailing fleet with the spinnakers set .......thats when we thought we might call it quits ....and the 3.5klm run home took just over an hour

3.5km trip home took an hour ?
    surf must have been up at wello!

OK....More like 45 minutes, but it certainly wasnt comfortable.....4 metre tinny copped a battering

should have taken the mini mal
    surfed all the way to wynnum

Going to Wynum would of been heaps easier