Great little sharks. We got 12 the otha day. 3 in the morning in the first half hour and then we left. Came back that arvo and got another 9.
Great fish and BEAUTIFUL eating. better thgana nything
matt
Great little sharks. We got 12 the otha day. 3 in the morning in the first half hour and then we left. Came back that arvo and got another 9.
Great fish and BEAUTIFUL eating. better thgana nything
matt
feral - lol - nothing like a decent live bait
mattooty - good work mate! what size where they?
i fish for shark in the pine. simple rig 10/0 stainless hook with 30cm plastic coated wire trace crimped, (don't rely on the heat seal alone) to 15lb mono (cant beat snyder) whole mullet fillet in a burley trail of blood, get your trail flowing into an eddy or back water, they seem to hang around there, also great fun to show the skiers when ya lift a 4 footer outa the water!!!!!!!!!!!
G'day Werewolf,
Well done on catching the sharks.
From the swivell to the lead is a 5 foot length? Is this the case?
I imagine it must be a tricky rig to cast.
Louis
Yeh werewolf, they were all small. About the same size as your ones. We got one bigger one around 4/5 foot but that was all. I was just fishing whole blue pillies on the bottom on about 2-3 foot of twist and melt wire. I use a snap swivel on the end of the rig. That way, wen i bring a shark into the boat, i just undo the swivel and effectively reduces the amount of hooks, line and the like thrashing around the boat. I usually have about 5 or 6 traces ready to go. Had one small one follow another up next to the boat. Dropped a bait in front of it and had 2 on at once.
Yeah thats right Louis, I use a bit over 5 foot, due to my highly technical measuring tool - my armspan haha. The wire gets added on the end of the trace so it makes it a touch longer, but I only use 6 inches or so of wire. I don't have any trouble casting it with my 7 foot uglystick. Just lob high, instead of the usual flick when casting (otherwise your ears might pay for it...). The heavy sinker lets me cast a good 20-30m.Originally Posted by Louis
lippa! looks like we need you in the bris, scare a few of the skiers away!
matooty - champ effort mate, thats unreal! did you berely up like our crazy friend in the pine?
G'day Werewolf,
Have you had a crack for them in Colleges. I've sighted plenty of the critters zippin around the main area with polaroids as the tide is coming in to high tide. It would be priceless to see the faces of all the Mum and kids having a dip while you drag one in . Maybe next time they'd read the signs.
On another note, I've seen plenty of them up near Mt Crosby weir whilst flickin lures around. Mainly just below the old weir where they get locked in pools created by the weeds at low tide.
No, didnt burley at all. Just drifted along a dropoff. Using the whole blue pilchards, we were getting about one fish per drop, with no bycatch as there was so many of them
i tried your ideas yesterday at cameron rocks except i couldnt get a hold of any eels so i tried using some frog mouth pillies. the only problem was the small finger mark and bream got there before the sharks.
picked up a few of these out of the mouth of the river and a few unstoppables
had one nice table size but decided to return him.. they have a bit of a stench to them... are they good eating? How do you prep them?
Az
frazzel - I have yet to try at Colleges. Lots of current + heaps of weed has always put me off. I should really try it one day though, considering the river is narrower, anything swimming past would smell the bait!
Az - don't let the smell put you off - ammonia?? - you cannot smell it whatsover when cooked, and they are sure worth cooking! Highly recommended. Dusted with flour and then cooked on the BBQ, then served with chips and a sprinkle of lemon I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!
I used to catch gummy sharks down in Victoria from the surf. Some wise old saltie told me that the ammonia smell is from Lactic acid which built up during the fight and the best way to get rid of it was to bleed and gut them as as soon as possible after the catch. I've always done it since then and it seems to work. Could be worth a try on Bullies if the smell bothers you.
As Werewolf said, they're beautiful eating and no bones.