Thread: 1st. Fish

1st. Fish

Just thought I would share with you fellow fishermen and women something that you may or may not be able to relate to. As a parent who loves to go out fishing given any opportunity I think back to where it all began. As a kid I remember how great I thought it was when my father and uncles took me on a fishing trip. When I caught my first fish the excitement was overwhelming. Now that I am all grown up and have two children of my own I decided to capture that first fish moment on my trusty Sony digital camera. My daughter was elated about her first catch on her very own rod and reel outfit courtesy of Santa last year and made sure she rubbed it in to her older brother that she outfished him. The bream was caught on the banks of the Coomera river and yes it was released so that it could do some much needed growing.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Re: 1st. Fish

What a ripper! Daughters can be such great mates.

send my congrats on to your daughter as i kno how she feels. shes sure a lucky girl as my dad did not teach me anything about fishing all i got was a few useless tips that my brothers gave. in the end i caught my 1st 1 (butter bream :S) in grade 3. but since then its been all good and i even taught my dad how to fish.
    great 1st fish!

Quote Originally Posted by charleville
    What a ripper! Daughters can be such great mates.
    I have to agree with you there charleville. They don't come any better than this little mate. She's one in a million.

Thanks Tazza. I read your reply out loud to my daughter and she said to say thankyou. Incidently she is in grade three now which is the same age roughly that you caught your butter bream.

fishing with the family, magic moment for sure Poodroo!

mate ,ive got 1 girl and 2 teenage boys, the girl has just turned 21 and she still loves to come fishing with her dad when she can be dragged from the shops,congrads to your young lady chief.

Congrats Mate I can still remember my first fish that my dad put me onto and I learnt heaps from him and my grandad, Its a great sport!!!

Quote Originally Posted by chief
    mate ,ive got 1 girl and 2 teenage boys, the girl has just turned 21 and she still loves to come fishing with her dad when she can be dragged from the shops,congrads to your young lady chief.
    That is fantastic chief. I can only hope that my daughter still has that special bond when she reaches your daughter's age.

Thanks flickflack, I am glad there are other people out there like me who appreciate the finer things in life like that first fish. I have always admired a woman who will get out there and love the sport of fishing. It is looking very much like my daughter will grow up in her dad's footsteps.

Poodroo,

Congrats to the daughter,she'll be outfishing you soon.Mine does on occasions and i cop stick for it too.I have a 12yo and 3yo daughters and 2 teenage boys(i'm trying to give these 2 away,anyone?)both girls have caught fish now and it's such a proud moment.

Congrats again and may there be plenty more for you and her.

Good on ya poodroo, you sound as excited as she was.

Congratulations on catching the fish Poodroo's daughter.

Well done.

Louis

Thanks to all for your nice replies. I always get excited to be out there fishing but sharing the moments with the kids just makes it all worth while. Yes fish2eat I was as excited as she was. Might start putting some strength into those little muscles of hers and see if I can get her to target some school jew next time (seeing as I can't seem to catch them) lol

poodroo