Pin Choppers

Thread: Pin Choppers

Pin Choppers

Hi everyone,

I went down to the pin on Monday morning and there was heaps of surface action.

I decided to troll a lure and ended up getting a couple of nice chopper Tailor.

Here are the pics

Re: Pin Choppers

Lunch after smoking.

YYYUUUMMMM

Hey Mike,

They seem to always be there when you least expect them hey. What area of the 'pin were you at?

Looks like a tasty lunch. What wood do you smoke them with?

Lone wolf,

I caught them opposite the entrance to swan bay in the middle of the channel.

There were lots of birds diving into the water.

One of the tailor spat out three hardyheads which is what they were feeding on.

I use bushmans blend mixed with some Hickory.I like to try different combinations for different fish.

They tasted beautiful as the tailor are quite oily.

Nice fish

Well done

Louis

Sounds exciting. Well done!

bo_sawyer

Nice fish mate.

Are us fisho's aloud to troll in the pin?? I heard from a mate a while ago that we couldnt... can some1 clear that up 4me

I think you have been conned Bo_D

bo_sawyer

na i even saw the map, it looked like some protection zone against trolling. I lost my fav lure and my whole spool wen i went trolling at wavebreak. Big bloody speed boat!!!

The protection zone that you are referring to is Swan Bay.

Yes it is illegal to fish there and no I did not fish there.

bo_sawyer

yer i kno well and truly about swan.... but im actually talking bout the pin bar... i might go ask my mate for another look at the map...

I've fished the pin for a long time and never heard of any restrictions as long as you don't enter Swan Bay. That's not to say people don't go in there, I once saw a fisheries barge go for Swan Bay at high speed, he appeared to catch two boats in there and saw about another 4 scatter that he did not get....may have got their rego numbers for Ron though.

could not imagine trolling around the 'pin on the week end just gone, it was standing room only.

Quote Originally Posted by Bo_D_
    na i even saw the map, it looked like some protection zone against trolling. I lost my fav lure and my whole spool wen i went trolling at wavebreak. Big bloody speed boat!!!
    Well maybe don't troll but you could try motoring along slowly and accidently dropping a line with a lure on the end into the water and if something should jump on consider that to be good fortune.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Nice pics of the chopper tailor Mikos. Makes me want to salvage my Nipper Kipper from storage and start using it again. I just hated cleaning it afterwards but there is nothing quite like the taste of fresh smoked fish is there?

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.