Thread: Nundah Ck by Kayak

chanquetas

Nundah Ck by Kayak

On the water and fishing before 0500 today. My mission this morning was to target flathead. I used a 1/4 oz jighead and 4" Powerbait for the entire morning, except for 20 minutes when I weakened and trolled a Dr Death around, but that had no result.

The old saying "No run, no fun", still is the truest there is when fishing I reckon. The water in Nundah Ck seems to be sporadic, its runs, then it stops for a while, then it runs again. Its a bit odd but there it is.

Anyway, there was only one other craft on the water, a nice retired couple checking their crab pots. I had a chat to them at the ramp later and he said he was busted off by something huge. With 60lb wire trace that he was using it must have been a Bull Shark.

Well, I caught a heap of Bream, the best about 30cm (the only thing that went in the esky), 4 undersize flathead, and 1 Estuary Cod. It was a beeeaaauutiful morning, and now Im home drinking beers.

Jake

Re: Nundah Ck by Kayak

It's a hard life isn't it mate...

Good job on the fish! There's nothing better than being on the water when it is spectacular views, fantastic day, and there's fish being caught!!!

chanquetas

Too right Dan. Im having a quick flick at Margate tomorrow morning too. Leaving the kayak on the car, all ready to go.

chanquetas

0713 Bream

chanquetas

0727 Bream

chanquetas

0825 Bream

chanquetas

0828 Estuary Cod

seem to be a few of those estuary cod getting around, i was suprised to catch a couple in norman creek

looks like a nice morning on the water nonetheless

great sesh there jake. wish i was there1

cuzza

Good catch there mate I haven't fished Nundah creek for ages!! infact as soon as i got a tinny that could handle a bit of chop and not get swamped easily by dam ski boats i have been fishing the pine and some of the bigger systems around Brisbane. I never even tried getting the canoe up the pine have had enough close calls with it in Nundah ck!!! mind you it's 14' long and i run with a full sized deepcycle bat near the front and always more gear than needed in it. It wasn't to bad with just me in there but when i had someone else sitting in the front it use to not want to go over the waves but under them
    Might have to get up there again though there is some dam good places to wet a line up there thats for sure. Here is a good pic of a nice lizard i got up there b4 christmas. was released after the photo its guts were so full that its stomach was hanging down double the depth of the lizard!

Brandon.

chanquetas

Nice flatty there Brandon. I think Ive seen your canoe somewhere last year.
    I think the big flatties have buggered off or something, the Bream were certainly on the chew this morning, I caught about 8.
    I have pulled some really nice flattied out of there, and the good thing is I got them right up where the boats cant go....nice and quiet.
    We've had the kayaks up the Pine, but there was a fair bit of traffic of course. Will be heading back to the Pine in a week or so though.
    Jake

Nice work mate. I bet it was lodes of fun catching those fish in the kayak. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Well Done!!! [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Cheers Jay [smiley=starsbronze.gif]

On ya, Jake. Good to hear that there are a few fish still in Nundah Crk. Haven't been up there for a while. Most fun I've had is late in the arvo at the mouth of Nundah at the bottom of the tide using a SP prawn profile (Kokoda Power Prawn). Always seems to be a big Lizzie there.

Gigantor
    ====================
    Hobie Outback 2012 &
    Hobie Oasis 2012
    ====================

I had a scanoe for a while and fished nundah/ pine river/ canals, Imainly caught flatties too.
    Brandon, in the Pine u should put in at lawnton near the bridge and go upstream on a larger tide, there is some nice spots up there too. No boats up there(much)
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

Thanks Rainbow runner, I have been thinking about investigating whats up that way only thing is the scanoe is at my dads place now that i have the tinny at mine I don't really want to head up that way in the tinny without knowing where the channel runs. I know the tinny dosn't draw much water but i also know it gets dam shallow up there!! Besides i am having fun trying to catch Jacks and Bream in other palces of the pine now that dosn't suit the scanoe >

Is it mainly flatties you get up there? or is there some nice holes that a jack might be sitting in up that way too??? Might grab the scanoe latter in the year and head up that way if its a good flathead haunt!!

Brandon