Noosa Pre-Christmas (Very Late Report) - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Noosa Pre-Christmas (Very Late Report)

chanquetas

Re: Noosa Pre-Christmas (Very Late Report)

Hey Jackash, sounds like an awesome week mate.
    I havent had much time with poppers but I reckon I might have to give them a go now after reading this.
    Jake

Ausfish Platinum Member jackash's Avatar

Yeah mate... they are bloody fun. We spent a few nights during the week with them. A couple of the nights we had some huge hook ups on them. Think they mightve been jacks up against the rocks but we were busted up. Also hooked some mega tailor them them and trevs aswell. they are such as exciting way to fish.... one cast in particular when i hooked a screamer which straightened my trebles > . I cast out towards the bank and little garfish started scattering a saw a swirl behind it so i twitched in one then another swirl and the back of the fish and my line jsut started peeling off. . So much fun when you get them.
    Jackash

top fish mate! i didnt realise some of those speices were around there!
    tim

land_based

Great report mate, looks like you had a great holiday. Definetly time to start trying some poppers out, what sort where you using?

ROb, Bubble Pop 65's resulted in some of our bigger hits but the 45's were performing more consistently... well producing more hits anyway! WE were using heaps of colours and i spose at night it wouldnt really matter than much as long as you nget a nice splash.

And Tazza_505... neither did we.. the barracuda was jsut a total surprise and the cobia... even though we'd heard a story about one getting caught there... i dont think i wouldve believed it if i hadnt seen it.
    Jackash

Tazza_505 i still dont believe there are cobia there and i saw my dad catch one!! Can anyone think why they would come in areas like woods bay???

FINCHO

Derek_Bullock

Hey guys

I have caught cobia that size on yabbies before while walking the sandflats at the top end of Tin Can Bay chasing whiting. Seems like the little fellas often come into the bays at times.

Derek

Yeah i spose as the baitfish and prawns yabbies etc are plentiful in there and there wouldnt be that many predators, it would be a fairly suitable habitiat. Still a surprise though.
    Jackash

Hey Jackash,Fincho,Dropshot,

Where do you guys stay up at Noosa? All your pics have blue skies. You musta just missed all the bad weather that they had in the following weeks. Great story and pics guys!!

Well done guy's looks like you had a ball love the picture of the little cobe.

Lone_Wolf most years we change where we stay but this year was one of the houses on mossmon court in noosa sound not really sure what number it was but was in between munna point and sheraton bridge on the main channel so was in a great spot to rip out in the boat every morning and be into the fish straight away, CANT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR!!!!

FINCHO

Lone _wolf - yeah mate got all the bad weather the next week at Mooloolaba! Was an awesome week. And indy, haha i don't think I've ever been a boat that ahs had such pumped up fishermen in it... hahah it was awesome.

Good work Jackash, I love plenty of pics!
    Toppy

caught-ya

nice fish!!

that's the smallest cobe i've seen

just wondering did you catch that in an estuary?