Went for a Jewie fish on Saturday morning. Headed out to my bait grounds and filled the bait tank with Live Yakka’s and Slimy Mackerel within half an hour.
Pulled up at the spot and began drifting. First drift I lost a nice fish pulling the hooks after the first run. Inspection of the bait showed several Jew teeth marks. Next drift we got a nice lizard and a Tailor. A steady flow of Tailor then followed best going 2.5-3kg. Next hit was a better fish on light spin gear with a small metal lure and it run hard and fast. A bit of boat work and some thumbs on spool saw it come to boat and revel itself as a good Kingfish over 75cm.
Next drift produced a nice Jew at about 5kg then the old man the hooked up next producing a better Jew at about 6kg. The bite then slowed with only one more smaller Jew and another Kingfish over the next hour or so making its way into the esky. We then called it a morning after running out of live baits and was back home before 10am.
Photo is the catch minus a Jew, Flathead and some Tailor that my mate took as his share of the catch.
More photo's to come.