my small flattie
well i was not planning on having a fish this weekend but my fiancee was very keen to try out her new shimano sedona 4000 reel spooled with 10 lb pink fireline,so we dragged ourselves out of bed at 4 am,had a quick shower,loaded the car and hit the road,we arrived at dohles rocks at around 5:30am and decided to flick some SP's at the end of dohles rocks road,i managed 1 nice hit which tore the tail off my 3" minnow grub,and poor amanda didnt even get a hit,with no fish being caught it was time to make a move,i was unsure where we were heading from there but i just kept driving and ended up near scarborough marina,we parked near the marina and walked up to the tip of scarborough at a place called tingira park where we started to flick the SP's from the rock wall,a few casts later and amanda pulls up a little flattie,quick photo and back into the drink he goes,then within the next 10 minutes i pulled in a little flattie (smaller than amanda's) another quick photo and back he went,we then decided to head back to the car and grab a drink and then walked to the outside wall of the scarborough marina where there were heaps of little live bait hanging around the rocks so i knew there would be some bigger fish around,few casts later and i pull up a 43 cm flattie,quick photo and in the esky he goes,then around 30 minutes later another flattie which went 42 cm,another photo and in the esky he went to join his mate,we had a great day and i was very happy as these flathead are my best fish on SP's to date,SP's we used were 3" gulp grub tail in pumpkinseed,4" power minnow in pumpkinseed and 4" power minnow in chartreuse,all used with 3/0 size hooks.
cheers tim #
my small flattie
42 cm flattie
43 cm flattie
spots we fished
Good to see a few stories with a few flatties today, they must be coming back on the chew.
Very kind of you as well to be specific about the location of your success, sharing the knowledge is a great deed.
Regards Cameron.
great session tim. very generous showing the spots too. some good flatties around there at the scarby wall. on the other side there are some medium sized cod and the odd jack too! decent sized boys at that. one bloke told me he pulled in a fingermark there one night - was odd but possible i guess. anyway great stuff.
cuzza
Good on ya Tim and partner you will eat well tonight.
Some nice size lizards on the popular pumpkin seed plastics.
Hope your success continues and the fish keep getting bigger on future trips.
Cheers #Brent
Very nice read and report there Tim. The best catch of course is the better half I think because finding a soulmate who loves to fish (even at those ungodly hours) is such a rarity. You're a lucky man. Happy fishing.
He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.
onya timnamanda get that practice in.........................
The Rainbowrunner
Peter Hansler
phansler@hotmail.com
Click here for my webpage
Click here for my videos
Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.
Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species
Well done guys good to see some quality fish coming out of that area
Great report tim, i do a bit of shark fishing off that wall every now and again.
Great report good to see you amongst the fish on softies
Kev.
geez mate your lucky having a fiancee who wants to go fishing... if only there were more like that
yer i agree with you guys..........she's the best catch ill ever get
cheers tim #