Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Fish Aplenty The Bay

Re: Fish Aplenty The Bay

Quote Originally Posted by Dorado
    Excuse my ignorance please but are doggies the same as spotties?

Great catch btw

Doggies are very bland looking in the flesh where spotties have very bright noticable spots all over also there heads are a different shape. I am sure someone on here will know there scienctific names that clear set them apart!

I nice haul of bay fish there!

Haven't heard from you for a while mate.

Thought you may have died in a corner of that big new business premises of yours and your were just quitely rotting away and no one could find you

geez thats great effort mate!

Nearly did last week Brett, dreaded dose of the trots , but still alive, just been laying low and doing the odd trip, waiting for that call to deckie
    Neil your a fan of Rainbow mate, you wouldnt have believed your eyes sunday morning, in all the years fishing the bay, i have never seen a sight like what happened, from Dialba entrance to the Myora light and acrooss to straddie the whole area was alive with white bait balls and doggies/bonito going ballistic, the slugs hits the water and were immediately hit or bitten off, there were so many, there were even small spots amongst the schools, so maybe it all about to happen, better late then never.
    Darren you had the invite, but you wanted to stay at home and play with your African Guppies

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Webby,

You have been busy !!!

Good to see you keeping your hand in with the Squabbies.
    Did you get them in the spot you showed me , south of the jewie spot.

Craigie.

G/ day Brian very nice haul there mate seems all that rest last week end didnt do you any harm ! hope to get amongst em next week.

CHEERS RAY PS any shots of the bait and bird action !

dorado

Thanks for the clarification ReelDreamer

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Almost forgot to mention it................Is that a "Blubba Lipped Snapper" you have buried in the centre of your pile of fish with your original post ??

hey webby multiply ur 'nice day' fishin by 11 million "nice days fishing' [ which is the estimate and only the estimate of what recreational fishing effort is in qld] and then ask urself the question gee where did all the fish go
    sure hope all that fish is gettn eaten and not just frozen to be thrown out later to make room 4 fresher fish

Darryl

Was a great day up the rainbow webby, for the hundreds of dollars of fuel i have spent running up there and back from the island .

It was good to finally catch 30 bucks worth the schoolies mate.

G/ day Brian it seems you carnt even put up a top day in the bay post with some nice fish for the family and friends and share the experience with fellow fishos without somebody jumping on their soap box and trying to unload their DEEP AND MEANINGFUL wisdom > This site was once a place where we just enjoyed a few fishing YARNS with men and woman who loved the same thing, i guess thats why i dont bother posting to much these days ! I suppose it was always going to end up like a day in parliment ( bitchin,moaning,pixxing someone off ! ) but it would be nice to just have a place to enjoy without the hassles of our daily life trying to make our love for the water and all things " FISHING " any tougher than they need be. Just dont understand why someone would knock a fellow fisherman for doing nothing wrong except take a few fish home ( and thats not easy to do in the bay these days) for a feed or two I just go fishing because its what i love to do and its the only thing that i dont have to turn into a political debate > is that so wrong ?

CHEERS RAY just my thoughts ! Pic of a "FUN DAY IN THE BAY "

Waldo35, Firstly I reply here two both your post, this one and re the prawns.
    Seems like I've drawn the attention of some frustrated Commerical.
    I think over the years we've been feed too much propergandar or bullshit regarding by-catches, and as i dont like spruking from the mouth about a subject i dont have answers for, the next best things was to actually go out and see for myself.
    It wasnt a trip to try and cruiseify river trawlers, but find out the facts, and the skipper i went with was only too willing to show me, as he was sick of being called a (rapist of the river).
    I knew on posting the report there would be positive and negative feedback, but thats what these sites are for, to air your greivences, and not sitting back and hiding under the blankets.
    Im still not in favour of trawlers, and their numbers should be drastically reduced both river and bay.
    Re the post on your fish x by 11million, mate i usually go out and kill everything that comes aboard, then throw it back, just like the bycatch from trawlers.
    To finish i wonder why some trawlers are finding it hard to make ends meat, when they have pulled everything they can from the bay, and your worried about what the rec's catch, and our bycatch would be something in the order of 1%.
    I hope that satisfies your thrist .

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    Waldo35, Firstly I reply here two both your post, this one and re the prawns.
    Seems like I've drawn the attention of some frustrated Commerical.
    I think over the years we've been feed too much propergandar or bullshit regarding by-catches, and as i dont like spruking from the mouth about a subject i dont have answers for, the next best things was to actually go out and see for myself.
    It wasnt a trip to try and cruiseify river trawlers, but find out the facts, and the skipper i went with was only too willing to show me, as he was sick of being called a (rapist of the river).
    I knew on posting the report there would be positive and negative feedback, but thats what these sites are for, to air your greivences, and not sitting back and hiding under the blankets.
    Im still not in favour of trawlers, and their numbers should be drastically reduced both river and bay.
    Re the post on your fish x by 11million, mate i usually go out and kill everything that comes aboard, then throw it back, just like the bycatch from trawlers.
    To finish i wonder why some trawlers are finding it hard to make ends meat, when they have pulled everything they can from the bay, and your worried about what the rec's catch, and our bycatch would be something in the order of 1%.
    I hope that satisfies your thrist .
    gee weebby according to a gov survey in 97 [using chrisweb figures multiplied by average species weight from aust seafood handbook] reccos hrvested 66 tonne of bream 134 tonne of tailor 92 tonne of catfish 25 tonne of flathead......317 tonne of fish representing only four of the myriad of species targetted by u reccos...........and weeeeeby go read the 2004 fisheries assesment paper which if i may quote states that aside from such abiotic factors as rainfall moreton bay is primarily a sustainable fishery. but mate good onya 4 at least having a go a being open minded.

Nice feed of fish there Brian, much prefer the mackeral to snapper for eating though, also interesting report, I do agree on your views re commercial fishing, been up on my soap box a couple of time about that!!!
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Waldo,
    obviously the "prawn" report has inspired you to also replyto this post because of the author.
    I think most rec fishos on here would admit that Webby's catch is in no way an average catch to all rec fishos.
    If we could all do that well on even SOME fishing trips, we would consider ourselves quite lucky.
    So to compare that trip to 11 million efforts or whatever is just ridiculous, and that fact alone makes statistics just a big guesstimate and a load of bullshit .
    I have nothing personal against trawler operators - actually my son and i have approached them in the bay before while they were anchored up and had a good old yarn about the bay and fishing alike - good bunch of blokes they were.
    But common sense suggests to most people that nets have a far more damaging effect, than mono with one hook on the end.
    I have fished with Webby a few times now and if you are suggesting he justs fills the esky with any "legal" fish to fill the freezer at home, you are mistaken.
    The bloke has pretty high standards on what is kept and what is released, he'll throw the "little" squire at 45cm back, one after the other, in search of a tru knobby.
    And when we've bumped into fellow ausfishers on the bay, and they have scored nil for the night, he promptly lifts our esky lid to put his fish in their esky.......
    much to my disgust.
    So he farts a lot ..... he's only human...
    Anyway...... I'm not lookin to blow too much smoke up his arse, he's just a damn good bloke.
    Waldo, i notice you are a newby to this site, try reading a few posts for awhile, and then submit something constructive about your industry, your view may be more respected at least, well maybe.
    regards darren