Green Is Sat 08/04

Thread: Green Is Sat 08/04

Green Is Sat 08/04

Hi All

Went out for the sunrise high this morning to Green for a few hours to flick some SP's. Very slow session with more boats than hook-ups out there! Managed a 40cm Squire and a couple of smaller ones. There were plenty of Pike smashing the SP's and all went pretty dead by about 8ish.

Not many fish caught all up from all reports at the ramp - ones & two's and all around the same size.

Just got myself a new digital camera and so below is a pic of one of the pike's caught by Hoges.

Take care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: Green Is Sat 08/04

hi t
    i was out there last sunday arvo
    cat fish and sharks no reefies

cheers pete

Shouldve sent a couple of those pike out as live bait...one of my favs

TIM-DONSELAAR

I've caught plenty of pike on sp's around tangalooma,as masterdusky said they make excellent live bait for bigger predators [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

your new camera takes pretty good pictures mate...heaps better than your old camera

cheers tim

Sorry the fish weren't playing the game for ya T1. Thanks for the report anyhow.
    Biff

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Yes I agree with every one else, wack a hook trough the pike and send the little sucker back down

Steven

some days there on the chew , next day there gone, thats what keeps us dreaming about the next trip.

Used to be happy when you hooked a pike in Mel, still good to catch, but just stuff the plakkys.

Anyway like I said, its better to hook a pike than nothing.

Thanks for the story mate and I agree with Tim, new camera is waaaaay better.

aquarius

T1 those pike can be a real nuisance in the shallows of Green & Wello.
    Mate glad you bought a new camera heaps sharper pics now.

We went out to Mud this Arvo to fish the plastics up until 9pm.
    Fish were very quiet but we had some fun with Cod, squire, flathead, sole and you guessed it GRINNERS!!
    Steven managed a good snappery/squire that went 55cm and gave him a few good runs to make his day.
    Slow tidal run this arvo so like they say no run no fun.
    Still great to just be out on the water with good mates.
    We fished the plastics under the moon in 7 metres and pulled in a few squire.
    For those who doubt plastics work at night we can honestly say give it a go next time you may be surprised.
    Cheers Brent

It's interesting Brent - We were at Redcliffe this evening, and we found as soon as it got dark, the fish shut down completely...

What plastics (colour mainly) where you using after dark?

Hey guys.
    We hit Green/Wello yesterday morning, launched at 4.40am.
    Hit Wello to start with, and Mike got two keeper squire both around 45cm, and that was it. Didnt even get all the normal throwbacks.
    Headed over to our Greeen spots, and hardly raised a scale there either. Grinners, pike, a couple of under sweeties and a couple of under squire was it.
    Back to Wello and still nothing, so we called it a day.
    I dont know if the sudden temp change shut them down, but that would have to be the worst Wello session we have ever had

aquarius

Guys the zoom baby bass and pumpkinseed gulps were the standout plastics after dark.
    We have had good results at Wello fishing the evening run in tide around the full moon.

ONLY 40% BITE YESTERDAY AT 2PM.
    Water temp sure has dropped over the last 2 weeks.....bbbbbbbbbbbbrrrrrrrrrr Winter is on the way !!
    Cheers Brent

Thanks Guys, camera is a good 'un (Tax Deductable!) - about to post another pic of wifey with her 1st ever fish/squire/fish on SP....

Aquarius, this week are the conditions u are describing! will have to try and get out there! Coincidentally, what depth do u fish off Wello and do u turn left or right at the end of the last markers?

Thanks T

aquarius

T1 we fish both sides of the Wello leads but more so to the left.
    This coming weekends tides look great to me but you are going to have a hard time finding a quiet spot away from the Easter crowds if the weather is perfect.

Depth usually between 6 to 3 metres depending on the light conditions and the water clarity.
    Fish will travel up into the shallows by night but come morning they venture back to the safety of the deeper water.
    If the water in discoloured or there's some wave action(white caps) they feel safe around the shallows but you need to keep the noise down as they spook easily.
    Cheers Brent

Thanks Brent! Going to try and avoid the waters over Easter but temptation may get the better of me. One late night/early evening mid week will be the go i think.

Take Care T