nudgee beach, 7 flatties and a stargazer, 23/4

Thread: nudgee beach, 7 flatties and a stargazer, 23/4

blue-mako

nudgee beach, 7 flatties and a stargazer, 23/4

hey guys...

headed down to nudgee on sunday morning around 630 on the run out tide at nudgee creek (not canal) hoping for a few flathead.... it didnt take long until mat was onto the first fish... a very small flathead around 20-25 cms... only about another 15 minutes after that and mat gets a strike but whatever hes hooked onto shakes its head a few times and stops. matt thinks hes hooked or brought into a snag and starts jigging to try and free it.. it then starts moving and shook its head a lot more wildly then a flathead but almost didnt fight at all... we land it and its a healthy stargazer at 1.2kgs didnt quite get the length but id say around 40-45 cms...

matt was beating me 2 fish to none and it took until low tide to catch my first fish... my first sand flathead around 20cms matt catches another about 30mins later about 30cms and we decide to head further down the creek to just behind the water treatment plant and rite on the canoe ramp... on my 2nd cast i land a 46cm flathead of 600 grams being the bigest flattie of the day a quick photo and bak to the water.... then another 2 casts after im onto a healthy 30 cm flattie... catching up to matt it was now 3 all with another spot change to go...

we moved back to the mouth for the run in as we had good results on the run out... we meet another fisho that was also an ausfish member and remembers a pic of me from a post a few weeks ago i did.... he hooks onto a small flathead about 20cms and about 1 minute later matt is onto his fourth fish about 20cms..... matt is beating me 4 fish to 3 and 10 mins before we leave i am onto a healthy 30cm flattie...

we then leave as the tide is soon going to swallow us.. all up it was a prety gud days fishing but i still haven't beaten matt!

,troy

heres the picture of the stargazer.... ive been talkin to a few people and they say its quite big for its size??? what do you guys think?? i woudln't know as its the first one ive seen and seen caught before...

nabs12

Re: nudgee beach, 7 flatties and a stargazer, 23/4

Hey
    Nice work with the flatties.
    Dam that thing looks ugly! looks like a giant toady to me

lowey

Great mornings fishing Troy.
    Were You using soft plastics or bait if sp what and how were you using
    them Troy. will have to give it a go down there as well.

You will beat him next time

cheers lowey

blue-mako

hey guys

lol yeh nabs i thought it was sumthing poisonous at first aswel but its nuthing like a toady its got a mouth like a stone fish and its eyes rite on top of its head.... you better b comin to brekky creek on saturday!

lowey yeh i was using sps... matts first 2 fish were caught on extra scent 3" power minnows.... our next 3 fish i think it was were caught on 3" pink lemonade realistix and the rest on 3" pumkinseed realistix...

we used a slow retrive keeping our rod tips as close as possible to the water to keep to plastic in the mud and sand for as long as possible to make as much of a mess on the bottom as possible.... we let it hit the bottom for about 5 secs then 2 jigs varying from fast and slow in the same retreives the a pause for about 3 or 4 seconds rite back to the rod tip...

and yes i beat mat!! finally haha i wrote up a report about pinkenba on anzac day about 10 mins ago check that out aswel...

cheers, troy

GDay Blue mako

I've also accidentally caught a few stargazers over the years in a range of locations - beach, river & estuary. My largest was nearly a metre long when fishing for Jewie with a BIG live mullet. It was like a brick wall.

Every one of them is like pulling the plug out of the bottom of the ocean when they are on hey?!!

Grant's guide to fishing reckons they are top table tucker but I just can't do it as they are SO ugly.

Nice report mate & the first I've seen on stargazers

Coxy