Thread: Bream popping Raby Bay

Bream popping Raby Bay

Went into Raby Bay yesterday afternoon to throw some softies. Got 2 bream on the plastics just before dark 26 and 25 to the fork. Pulled out the poppers just on dark was a bit quite at first with a few nudges but no hook ups. Moved to a new canal and first cast along one of the rock walls my first one stayed conected. Took a little bit of line but not too much. 26cm fish. Released him moterd back over with the electric and next cast pulled another. This one went a little better, netted him and he went 29cm quick photo and back in the water. Couple more fish 23 29 24cm. Then found myself on my knees crying after being smashed up by a horse bream, jack or cod dont think the 4lb line had any chance of stoppin this thing. Would of been nice to get a look at it though. Boated a couple more small fish and then headed for home happy with the session had. The gear used was pro castor Z 2-6lb rod, Stradic 1000 spooled with 4lb fireline, siglon 8lb floating fly tippet and river2sea bubble pop 35mm. Heres a couple of pics. Cheers Whytey.
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Re: Bream popping Raby Bay

If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

WHITTO

Just out of interest has anyone tried the Tassie Devil lure's with Bream,Cheers Whitto

land_based

Awesome result mate. Did u jag the second one in the pic or did u just throw the lure on him for the pic.

just threw it there for the photo.

I love those little bubble pops, got a little bream up in the river a few weeks ago in the same spot that turly hooked a tilapia a few moments earlier. The tarpon go nuts for those things, and have heard the bass like em too, but no proof there..... yet.

looks like it was a fun little session, shame about the un-stoppable

nabs12

hey
    Those bubble pops seem to be quite good with the bream... I mite have invest in some of em i reckon..
    Raby bay seems to be doing alrite lately and hopefully gets a lot better in winter
    You got some nice bream there must have been good fun

Sorry to drag up an oldie....

What colour little popper is that?

Oh and is any of that Raby Bay section accessable land based?