FIRST LONGTAIL

Thread: FIRST LONGTAIL

FIRST LONGTAIL

The plan for the day was to go out and have a quick fish in the morning, finish fishig at 9am so I could be home to get to a wedding which I was a groomsmen. The morning started off fantastic, left before daylight, missed a red beacon because the light wasn't working and did the obvious, clunk clunk clunk. All good hull wasn't touched just a few more character lines on prop. Got to the rainbow channel just on day break, very quiet for the first two hours, big tidal flow lots off lost jigheads and plastics. When the tide finally started to slow down (1 hour till leaving time) started to get a few, nothing huge a 39cm parrot and a few just under legal squire. We saw a few longtails on the surface and mack tuna but any time we went anywhere near them they got spooked and disappeared.

9 a.m. time to go don't want to be late for the wedding, we thought one more drift wont hurt. Lanks had just picked up a new rod and reel off Duncan at Fishhead and wasn't in any rush to go so he could break in his new combo. Just as we were about to pull up stumps his line started to disappear into the distance. Time to test out the certate and g loomis combo. We were fishing the bottom with 1/2 oz jig heads and 5 inch cameo gulps, so first impression was maybe our first decent snapper. What ever it was hit it on the way down, almost straight away the motor was on and we started the chase. After about five minutes of driving around the channel we finally got a glimse of it, it was a longtail and it wasn't to keen on coming in. 35 minutes later stressing about losing the fish (only had 14lb leader) and trying to get the fish in so I wasn't going to be in to much shit for being late for the wedding. Finally after about 45mins the longtail was landed, 105cm/10kg not a bad way to break in the new rod and reel. Now the mad rush to get home and get to the wedding.

It was a good day in all, got to have a fish, Lanks broke in his new rod and reel with a nice fish, and didn't get into trouble for being late after showing my mate the photos of the fish.

<")>< <")>< <")><

Re: FIRST LONGTAIL

Have a excuse now to get a bigger esky.

Let the bragging begin.

Great fish there mate nice to see one caught on the light line nice new combo to

Congrats mate

Jay Jay
    Go mighty Broncos

Go Wallabies

g loomis rod $600
    Certate 2500r reel $630
    16lb PE braid $50
    first long tail $PRICELESS

aquarius

Lanks you did well to land that 10 kilo longtail and the G Loomis/certate combo is worth every cent.
    What a way to break in the new gear.
    Cheers Brent

great catch

thats a bloody nice fish mate... congrats

TIM-DONSELAAR

nice longtail there Lanks...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim

That's a ripper of a fish mate! Congrats!!

Can't wait to get my first one!

Great fish mate, 45 minutes with a 14 bl leader is a fantastic effort ,and on plastics, Would be the best effort i"d read since joining this ausfish. 10 kg of longtail would try out that outfit to the max.

Craigus

Great fish mate, and on that outfit it's awsome.

Craigus

love the longtails