PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Mud Island Monday Night
Headed out to a new spot that i had found the previous sunday. The bay was like a lake, with just a few ripples across the surface. I was running late and anchored up against the early trickle of the outgoing tide.
It was deadly silent out there-
i'm surprised that with the conditions the way they were, there wasn't at least three dickheads motoring around ontop of me, throwing nets, bashing things up against the side of their boat or droping the anchor over the side and letting the chain run along the edge of their boat and then profoundly claiming the bay is overfished or overworked by trawlers when they fail to catch anything. The same dickheads that look puzzled when you're back at the ramp cleaning an 81.5cm snapper (pb from mud in less than 10 trips) or any other edible fish.
Anyway where was i.... oh yes, the silence, - I could hear surface activity in every direction from the boat. Up in the shallows there were some serious boils and whatever these things were they were enormous and very aggressive. I was itching to move up into the shallows but wanted to test out the new spot... so the compromise was deploy 2 differently weighted baits and some berley back towards my chosen structure and flick poppers around the boat. Within five minutes the popper had returned one legal and two undersized tailor. I was having such a ball up the front of the boat that i forgot about the rods out the back. Both were hooked up. I grabbed the one with the biggest bend first- felt solid but ended up being a 40cm squire foul hooked. The second line - which had slightly more lead attached produced a 38cm flathead.
-SLASH-!!
Again something huge breaking the surface about 50m upcurrent and in closer to the island. Whatever it was i reckon it was eating the undersized tailor, so the legal one in the esky was turned into strip bait- hoping to jag Mr. Snapper who would most likely be picking up the scraps downcurrent.
Undersize squire came aboard in droves. The by-catch was another flathead about 25cm, a handful of undersized tailor and a small mackerel (approx 20cm). By 10.30pm, the breeze kicked up, there was some very dark clouds moving in (the stars were disappearing) and lightning on the horizon. The tide turned in a bit over an hour but i forced myself to pack up and go.
All in all, despite only 2 legal fish, the new spot produced a mixed bag. I can't wait to have a closer inspection of the shallows in daylight hours and experiment with this new spot during the run in.
Sounds like lots of fun Novice! Well done. Have only been out there twice now with small results - would have been stoked with your 81cm snapper tho!!!
I was intending to go to Mud last nigh but went to Green instead. It would have been a easy trip to Mud in last night's conditions. Nice to read your report. many thanks.
hello novice,
Nice to hear mud is starting to produce the goods, particularly the wider grounds.
Refreshing description of 90% of Moreton bay anglers as well, could not agree more !!!
Here's hoping for more nights alone on the still water and heaps of snappa over the coming months.
axel
Wecome to ausfish as a newbie, you obviously know what you are doing with a great PB and I will be keen to see more posts like this one. Well done!
Charlie, I have a fair idea why you try Green over Mud, and I am trying the same. Is it the distance of Mud that puts you off? Some good reports of Green coming through, but as yet I don't do very well at Green