that would be little waddyOriginally Posted by theVan
Just south of Waddy.
NICE SHARK HOW LONG DID IT TAKE TO BRING UP?
Awesome bet they were very heavy. What type of sharks are they and how much did they weigh approximatly?
Jay Jay
Go mighty Broncos
Go Wallabies
Now Chugga, I'm a little confused here - there are 3 photos in your post. The 1st one has waddy in the background and looks to be just south of Ocean Lake. The 2nd one with you holding the rod has Middle Rocks in the background and Indian Head obviously further south. The 3rd has Middle Rocks in the background and the photo was taken from the Southern side. Is this some sort of trick photography or is there 2 perhaps 3 sharks involved or am I losing my mind?
Actually that is probably south Waddy in the background on the 3rd.
great work
is that woman in the first pic holdin' the bait?????????
awesome creature,, do you tag em chugga or just release,,,,
its funny you mention 14/0,,, i still have 2 in the bottom of the tackle box that i bought in townsville when number 1 son was born,,,,they like me have seen a hell of a lot water since then,,,,,
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
Not to mention the different time of day for pic 1 to that for pic 2 & 3.
2 different sharks hey. Your back must be better than mine mate.
Nice shark. Seems too nice an animal to kill.
How do you release a beast that big that is sitting high on the beach?
i thought of that to charleville??,,,,Originally Posted by charleville
ya cant just throw it back in,,
ya cant place your hands to close to the business end,,,
and if ya drag it back with the tail rope,,,you have to realise sooner or later ya up to your knees/waist in water,, with him
i reckon wait til the tide comes in is the safest,,,,,,always drag it around a bit first and get a few worms i 'spose
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
Originally Posted by choppa
...but even if you did tow him with a tail rope, my assumption is that you are going to ram sand into his gills and kill him that way.
Happy to be proven wrong but the "release" bit sounds like BS to me.
gday chugga,
do you mount em (i know that sounds bloody suss, but you know what i mean) on their backs or right way up. we usually hop on after we've turned em onto their backs - seems to be able to access the hooks easier that way. although we've had a couple of near misses and been thrown off.
in general charleville they are r**ted by the time you get em in. they dont flap around like pups as chugga mentioned. they can be released without harm - for the monster 12 plus footers, you can actually roll em back in no worries. hard work, but well worth seeing em swim away. but yeah, there's no doubt that chugga woulda easily got those two girls back in safe and sound. sometimes we've spent half an hour walking them up and down the gutter to get em kicking again, but in the end, they come to.
cuzza
how do yuo get you bait out there and what do you use for bait?
To answer a few questions there are 2 sharks and they were caught near middle rock and ocean lake. This is from the same trip but we have been doing this for 15 years. They are between 400-450 pounds and take between 1 - 1.5 hours. None of them have been towed onto the beach and none have ever died or been killed. To get the hooks out you sit on the and hold on tight with your knees pulling their head up using pliers. To release they are pulled into the water and held for about a minute for them to get the balance back. I am new to the website and not sure if video clips can be loaded but we have heaps of video footage of the whole process. I know that it is hard to believe until you have seen it.