Thread: I'd hate to have been in a tinny

I'd hate to have been in a tinny

Sunday arvo we were fishing in the slipping sands area, getting onto a few lizards and keeping a cautious eye on the inky black clouds that seemed to be heading away from us, when we decided that they were actually coming towards us. Decided to do a runner but didn't get very far. Started to get pelted with hail as the wind started picking up hard. The canopy was now not enough protection, so my mate dropped the anchor while getting pelted in the head by hail and we ducked into the cabin. Would have sucked being in a tinny!

Re: I'd hate to have been in a tinny

Doesn't look as bad in the pic as it was.

Got pretty cold, I was only in shorts and a t-shirt.

Nice sunset at lone pine on the logan river

i have been in a open boat in a hail storm lucky we were fishing outside had my big tackle box i emptd it and put it over my head it was very scary

I got caught in a mother of a storm in an open tinny years ago - luckily there was no hail, but the rain was so heavy I had to drop the anchor and sit it out. The visibility was down to a few metres.

It was wet and cold, but I was more worried about the lightning crashing all around me. Still, I was glad to hear the thunder - I reckon if you can hear it you must still be alive.

The good news was that the bream went crazy just before the storm, biting on baits as soon as they hit the water.

we were in a damn tinny the damn brother inlaw wanted to go fishing right or wrong , we were anchored not far from where you took the photo of the lone pine
    we left king of pin weigh in & went to the ramp near home ( alberton ) & got to anchor up & catch 2 whiting before we were drenched & peppered with hail brother inlaw looks @ me & says this wasn't such a good idea was it ???
    so on the phone & tell the boss we'll be @ the ramp in 5 mins , fortunately she was there waiting

gogecko

I got home at Helensvale an hour after the storm, and saw hail all over my lawn. Some of it was still there the next morning. The radar said it went right thru my place and over the pin.

Was in the bay sunday arv watching the one head through on the northside. This shot is looking towards the glass house mountains.

Would hate for any one to have been out in the Bribie passage when this hit.

All i got was a cool shower, which only lasted 5 mintues

If anyone ever disputes whether you catch sharks in the Brisbane River, the 1st time I ever did was in the mouth of the bremmer, from a canoe... and it had just hailed over the top of us, so I was in the water because it was warmer in the water hanging on to the canoe... Until the 1st line went off. zzzzzzzz and I was back in the canoe pretty quick. I forgot about the cold.

Flash

Scalem,

I've never been so keen for a fish as to use myself as berley.