Tailor Today - Teewah - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tailor Today - Teewah

Re: Tailor Today - Teewah

Slider,

Toying with the idea of coming up tomorrow (Wed 31/5) for a dabble. Will you be out an about again?

NAFAI

G'day slider, was up there on the weekend just gone fishing those impressive gutters your refering to.I was fishing baits and did ok, friday arvo got 2, sat morning got 12, sat arvo got 4, sun morn got 3,sun arvo got 2, mon morn got 3.All were solid choppers with some pushing over the 2kg mark no probs.Just finished eating the last of them thismorning for breakky, mmmmmm can't beat fresh tailor.

Didn't think you needed much incentive to chase greenbacks Wolf

Knew somebody had to be Ondajob. Water is too good for there not to be. Might have saved Lone Wolf a trip?
    The gutters seem to be filling in a little at the moment I notice though.
    Nafai, I will be out and about playing my role in the bait v lures debate for a couple of hours in the morning and in the afternoon depending on the weather. Maroon Hilux mate.

slider, i did notice the gutter just the other side of the log on the beach was starting to fill in by mon mornin, but the one just to the south of the orange barrier mesh was looking better.Both of those were the fish producers, the only problem i had with bait was the thieving pickers(tarwine)if i let it sit for to long.Was kickin meself that we had to pack up camp n come home with the weather so good.We were camped in the camping ground opposite the camels, it's good for easy access for that end of the beach.

I've mainly been spinning the gutters between the 1st cut to Teewah but I notice the good water closer to the bar. The beach looks great at the moment with clean water and sand. Is a good place to be.
    Camels have only got 4 weeks left there which I would say will improve the smell around the camp in south easterlies.

fair dinkem, are they not liked or is buisness not doing so well for them? They certainly have a unique smell about them that wouldn't be missed. Hope ya do well while the weather's good. I tried spinning for them as well with no success, lucky the baits came through!

I'd say business is doing very well. Is because Petrac who are the owners of the resort don't want them and won't find land for them to use. Are more focused on the equestrian centre and camels spook horses apparently. So there is nowhere for them to go on the north Shore.

Nothing before the bottom of the tide Scott. Will try it as it turns on dusk.

Afternoon report - Went down at 10 to 4 to spin gutters about 3 - 5km south on the first of the incoming tide with low at 3.40pm.
    First cast which is always a quick retrieve was taken by a 55cm tailor. Didn't have any more strikes for 10 mins or so and then I saw a tailor leap out 10m behind my lure and then 5 seconds later a smaller tailor about 50cm was on and beached. The dart in the meantime were scattering everywhere and the school of tailor that was in to them swam in to the gutter in front of where I was standing and a comfortable cast away. The next 5 casts were all hook ups and were released once beached. All of these fish were around 50 - 55cm. As quickly as they came on, they went off and a dozen more casts with no strikes meant time to move with the sun just behind the dunes. Went another 500m south from where I was and cast over some rocks in a good gutter and received a strike 1st cast and beached a chopper of about 45cm. Same thing next cast and then couldn't get a strike for the next 20 til nearly dark and called it quits.

Another pic

land_based

Good going slider, those tailor look heaps fresh out of the water.

This mornings report. (Tuesday)

Was on the beach before sunrise to find me old mates Winston and Denis in the gutter I was planning to fish. Winston caught 14 dart there yesterday afternoon just before I had arrived there for tailor.
    Had a few spins without strikes before denis moved from the corner of the gutter where he was fishing with eugarie which allowed me to spin the line I wanted. After 5 cranks on the TSS4 I could see some activity behind the lure and a few more cranks saw a splash as the tailor hit the lure and a lot more splashing as I set the hooks. A couple of short runs and 6 or 7 spectacular leaps later she was on the beach. Weighed at 3.6kg and measured 67cm to the fork. Spun up 2 reasonable choppers further south before calling bacon and eggs.
    Was another perfect morning with still some swell and a 5 knot westerly helping to push the cast way out past the back of the gutter and into the channel. Hopefully be some more fish today but with a waning moon I expect that they will become hard to find.

And a photo before the boys could bring themselves to stop spinning sliders and help me out.

Tuesday afternoon report.

Hit the same gutters at about 3.15pm and didn't have any joy so moved on to another gutter and found a fish straight away. This one was 67cm and weighed 3.5kg. Followed up with another tailor shortly after that would have been around 2kg and 1 more of the same size 15 mins or so later.
    Yet to drop a fish this week.

Hard getting decent photos on the beach when you're on your own.