Thread: Wello Mission 7/6/06

Wello Mission 7/6/06

After reading all of Brent's top catches last week at Wello I couldn't stop myself from giving it a go myself. So off I set for an arvo session at wello. The bureau had predicted 15/20kn but seabreeze had a differnent thought. So I thought bugger it I'll go and see how the weather is and sure enough it was flat as a tack seabreeze was correct. Bureau was wrong again.

Now along side me was me good old work buddy Mick. Due to T1's absence due to work comitmance Mick had to do for this trip he was the best man I could get at the time. #

We launched at 5.00pm in search of some good ground. We done a couple of drifts with no success at all so we anchored in search of some fish. Within minutes of anchoring first came aboard 30cm then one after the other they kept rolling in caught over 20 fish in total with only 1 fish being legal most were between 30cm and 34cm # most were caught on bait. Fantastic Plastic didn't come close to bait this trip. I kept saying the big ones will show they will show and of course they didn't show #> > #

Looks like it is hard work to get the big ones I have to take my hat of to Brent and the boys they do really well. But this being my 2nd only time at wello I think I did well for a newie to the area. First trip with T1 resulted in 4 undersize, this trip I got over 20 in a short time and a keeper so things are looking up. #It will take some time for me to catch the big ones have alot of learning to do about the area.

Any of you guys got any tips for me as in what times, tides, moons, water depth #fish best at wello?

All in all had a good time and will be out there chasing those big ones again.

It's all part of the fishing experience

Re: Wello Mission 17/6/06

at least you were out on the water and its better to be catching undersized fish than nothing at all

persistance will pay off, I haven't fished wello myself so cant be of any assistance

never knew you could time travel and fish in the future....

Quote Originally Posted by DICER
    never knew you could time travel and fish in the future....

aquarius

Re: Wello Mission 7/6/06

Hi Tinn, Mate you will catch the small squire during the day but for the bigger fish get out there at 6am with the plastics.
    Fish in 4 to 5 metres along the reef casting ahead of the boat as you drift.
    Set your drag to 3lb while the rod is loaded up.....A SMOOTH DRAG IS A MUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Choose a high tide around mid morning.
    1/8TH JIGHEAD # #4"ZOOM BABY BASS # # 10LB BRAID AND 12LB FLUROCARBON LEADER # #HANG ON TO YOUR ROD BECAUSE THEY GO HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Persistance is the key to success.
    You will get that fish soon mate.
    Cheers #Brent

G'day Tinn, Brent has covered it well & you will certainly be on the right track with his suggested gear,you didn't mention what baits you use but if you wish to persist with the bait I'd be fishing dawn/dusk(specially a tide change) & my top bait would be A><> whole medium size cuttlefish (on two snooded Mustard 4/0s),B><>whole peeled king prawns then C><>whole strips of yellowtail pike(two strips back to back) one 4/0 thru the top & only a very small free running ball sinker."Works for Me", Again as Brent says fish the 4/5 metre depth at Wello & the 3/4 metre ledge on the s/east side of Green, there are some nice size pink bream there at the moment. Good Luck.Cheers Touchy.><>

Thanks for the help guys I will be following your methods and will report back each time I go. I have plenty of patience so I am sure I will start catching them soon. With you guys helping me I can't go wrong
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Better still Tinn,Ask Webby to take you one day that way you can practise up catching Grinners & Pike, you will probably get to keep one of his thermos too 'cause(in his old age ) )he cant remember that their his. ;Looking forward to your reports.D . Cheers Touchy.><>

Ahhh TINN, what do u expect with no T to bless your boat!!!! Well, i don't know about work commitments but i managed 3 rounds of golf in 3 days even in the gloomy weather that has beseiged Syd/Wollongong! I am getting the shakes for not having fished for over a week and am deadset looking forward to getting back for a Snap attack at the end of the week!!!

Take Care All T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan