Thread: GREEN/WELLO NIGHT 16/06

GREEN/WELLO NIGHT 16/06

Hi All

It's been great reading all the reports over the past 2 weeks while i've been away and special mention to CHIEF & CHARLEVILLE for the great catches of late!! CHIEF, u and i started SP's about the same time and it's great to see the success of the hours paying off! CHARLEVILLE, what persistance and loved that 70+cm Snapp last week! I was sitting in a cold, wet and windy Sydney wishing how i was up here flicking an SP!

Anyway, the call came this week from TINN to venture out for a session - it's been very lean times of late especially since lifting THAT Salmon from the Brissie - in fact everyone that i fish with says that i have put a curse on us and i should've returned it to the waters - and next time (if there is one), i will be sure to do that! As content as i am (& shuld be), the ego always looks to be continually massaged (human nature i guess) and at the moment, it's deflated... Not having had a boat for the past 6 weeks hasn't helped but apparently, i should have it back this weekend !!

Nonetheless, in perfect conditions yesterday afternoon, TINN and i left Wello boat ramp at just after 3pm and did a few drifts near Huybers - very little action with both SP's and baits. Looking good and tempting, we headed to Green to fish sunset. Again little action however managed to land some grinners, pike, a 33cm Squire on SP's and a 2 choppers on the ole faithful floating Pillie. We also managed to drift within an embarrassing whisker of an anchored up fisher. Given we were certain we weren't going to collide, we figured we'd continue our drift rather than start our motor and startle the fish (what few there was). If that was another Ausfisher, sincere apologies for startling you!!!

As i had a curfew for 8.30pm, we headed back to Wello and anchored up off the ledge where we started to pick up some breambo's (smallish) on baits. TINN did manage to boat a 38cm Squire though which was encouraging. Time ran out and we left the Breambo's on the chew for another time! Not a very productive trip to say the least but certainly great to be back out on the water after a 2 week lay off and a great reminder of what a wonderful place we are all lucky to live in - BRISBANE!!!!!!!

Take Care All T

PS: Thanks TINN for another enjoyable evening...
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

aquarius

Re: GREEN/WELLO NIGHT 16/06

G,Day T1, Sounds as if you guys had a very quiet night out at Wello.
    Steven78 and I went out to chase some squire today from Green and up to Ormiston with little success so don't feel like you had bad luck.
    Not the best tide and moon phase but still worth getting out there to enjoy the Bay.
    The tidal run was slower than the 10 knots of wind so we ended up drifting against the incoming tide.
    Bom said it would be 15 to 20 knots but we experienced nothing more than 10 knots of S/W right up till noon Saturday.
    Only 2 keepers.
    Try a night trip around the new moon next time.
    Cheers Brent.

G'day T1, I went out to Wello drop and Green Island on thursday night, didn't get much either only managed 2 sweatlips both 35cm . Since these area's have been my local haunt for the last few years, I think I can say that this area has been pretty slow over the past couple of weeks .

cheers steve

your not wrong T1 up untill 4-5 mnths ago hadn't used a plastic and remember thinking I'll never get these things to work. still got a long way to go but your always learning . I reckon if you think you know it all your stuffed.
    Mate , I love to read you and tinns comments and your attitude to fishing, its bloody good fun win or loose.and brissie the fishing so much fun and deverse,your right what a place to live

Quote Originally Posted by chief
    still got a long way to go but your always learning . I reckon if you think you know it all your stuffed.
    Mate , I love to read you and tinns comments and your attitude to fishing, its bloody good fun win or loose.and brissie the fishing so much fun and deverse,your right what a place to live
    I could have said the same things and I am a bait fisho!

I made decisions years ago that I would not move to Sydney or Melbourne like my company wanted me to. It is just too good in Brissie.

I too love to see those reports.

Best wishes...

i think that the moons play a very big part in fishing wello,green, st helena and mud not worth going out there in a bad moon just to catch a few babys and freeze your ass of doing it .i think the fish will pick up this weekend 23rd june good moon and i reckon these spots that i mentioned above are going to go off this week the bay will have finnaly settled and it is a good solunar phase as well

cheers wes

Hey guys!

Do we sometimes analyse things a bit too much when it comes to fishing?? I, as most of you probably have, caught a lot of fish in conditions that did not seem the most suitable to be filling the creel - and on the flipside, caught zilch when conditions were pristine! How many times have you fished a spot and came back the next day for zero, as Chief did this week...

TINN and i were discussing the other night that those that catch regularly are those who put in the time to learn their surrounds and conditions. Not everyone, and i'd say very few, actually go out and nail fish every single time they fish. However, put in the effort and be rewarded most times - that's just how it is. Nonetheless, it's always fun trying!!

Take Care T

Quote Originally Posted by sotally_tober
    not worth going out there in a bad moon just to catch a few babys and freeze your ass of doing it

I obviously have not spent enough of my life fishing yet because even when I go out there on a cold night and catch nothing, I still find the whole experience exciting and also very calming on me when I get home.

Just driving, or should I say, gliding the boat back from Mud or Green to Manly late at night on a flat sea, smelling the fresh air and all of the odd smells that invade that air out on the bay under a star filled clear sky is worth every bit of the cold from my perspective. I do drive a runabout which gives a bit of protection from the wind but nonetheless it is a surreal experience.

I agree with your observations about the moon phase effects though.

Best wishes...

Well what can I say T1 you have cursed us for sure but that is okay we need to leave other people catch some fish too.

The curse of the bloody salmon. It is all part of fishing sometimes you getm sometimes you don't.

It is great just being able to cast a line in the water. Better than at home sleeping or watching TV or fighting with the wife

Due to our 8.30pm deadline the fish decided to come on the chew at 9.00pm. Smart little suckers. Now one would ask how do you know that?

Well I have a camera set up at wello Nah I left my good old work buddy Mick there to suss the new area out. As this was my 3rd trip to wello I need all the help I can get to learn the place well.

Sure enough Mick didn't disapoint. With his secret berley and bait they stayed on to about 11pm within the 2 hour period they caught 15 Breambo's ranging from 27cm to 36cm 4 squire all above 40cm and got smashed three times to some big Brutes all on bait an anchored up. So funny that when the cursed man T1 leaves the fish come on the bite.

I don't know for how much longer I can keep taking you out T1. Looks like we leave when the fish arive

Well until next time guys and girls good luck and leave some fish for us
    It's all part of the fishing experience

[smiley=cry.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=whip.gif] [smiley=hanged.gif] [smiley=behead.gif]

Fine then... don't come asking me where i caught all my fish...