Bay Bash !

Thread: Bay Bash !

Bay Bash !

G/ day all thought id get the ball rollin with a few pics and a run down on our Bay Bash ! Myself and Webby had been planning a trip to chase a few bay knobbies, and sat arvo was the plan With Webby and his mate (forgot his name) sorry, and Steve (Ausfish) in the Cruisey, me and Deckie Dan in my C/Craft, my two brothers Terry and Steve in his Whittley, Darren (Allniter) and Bruce (Charleville) had the tinny brigade covered with his Formosa, and my other brother went solo in his C/craft. we hit the water around 4.00pm with a plan to try a few areas in groups and on dark meet back at spot X No luck with other spots so we settled in for the the evening things were very quite with just the odd fish hitting the bin Darren decided to head to mud but the rest of us sat it out in hope of a big snapp ! My brother Terry picked up a nice 5 to 6 kilo model and Webby managed to boat a nice size cobia with some help from Steve ha ha ha With the sky closing in around us and the lightning and thunder doing the same, as the change came thru the wind picked up to 20 knts plus With the anchor ropes stretching out we sat and waited for it to pass, in the meantime i had noticed a very large container ship had cut the corner of the channel and was heading straight at us but was still a fair way off so i didnt panick ! But when i could see Webbys whites of his eyes from the ships bow lights it was time to do something ! I pulled out the 50,000 candlepower spottie and shone it into the bridge like i was possesed and i think they got the picture ! id say the got within 50 mts which was damm close and Webby reckon he could count the rivets on the hull ! With the storm easeing we decided to move in to some ground around mud and a few more fish were boated but they were far and few apart so we called it quits around 1.00 am for a nice easy run back up the river to Whyte ramp. All in all a fairly quite night but i think the next few weeks after this rain will get things firing.

CHEERS RAY Pics to follow some of the boys heading out !

Re: Bay Bash !

Tough conditions headin out !

Spot X !

TRY again !

This time for sure Spot X !

Crew with some of the nights catch .

Finish the job !

Must have been typing at the same to mate, my version in Convoy to the Paddock

Allniter and I representing the tinnie brigade saw lots of action but nothing that we needed a tape measure for.

Nonetheless, the conditions were terrific and it was great to meet a bunch of other Ausfishers and the boss (Steve Brown).

It was also pretty inspiring at the end of the night to see the final haul. Very impressive!

...and life is full of new experiences. I have never been in a boat out on the Bay when a storm hits overhead. It looked far more ominous than it was. The sky sure was black for a while though.

True to his name, Allniter stayed the whole night so I did a mid-ocean transfer on to the Cruisecraft to come home with the rest of the guys. The "jump" from the tinnie to the Cruiscraft went a lot more smoothly than I thought it might, thank goodness!!! I really do swim like a wind tunnel tuned lead sinker.

Many thanks to the guys for the invitation and the hospitality.

Yep, yep ,yep..... sigh......
    After spending what seemed like half the arvo travelling around the bay,
    Bruce [charleville] and i finally got to wet a line, after meeting the gang of yobos at spot x.
    it was hard to sit there near the continental shelf, with dear, dear mud island within eye distance on the horizon.
    so we made a decision to head to mud [ only about 100 nautical miles away]
    mainly due to the storm looming in the distance.
    anchored up nice and close, and released 10 million squire just under .....
    the storm hit and pissed down rain while bruce and i discussed world politics, the economy, relationships, and everything else about life in general .
    i reckon bruce should change his name from "charleville" to " have a chat" ......
    but seriously, great to meet you mate .
    we tried out a bit wider for larger specimens but sadly no go.
    poor bruce got stuck with me, instead of in one of the luxurious half cabin "sissies, i can't get wet brigade"
    had a few laughs with the rakinray mob of brothers over the 27 meg during the night and nearly had them fooled that we had bagged out on knobbies...
    but i think ray knows i'm not capable.
    Well done to terry on that snapper mate, maybe we should have stayed ay
    good to see you again steve, next time tell brian to catch his own yakkas,
    and next time bring the infra red glasses so we can find out exactly what he does in that dark corner of the boat to catch all those fish
    Well "old wise one" , i'm sure the boys appreciated you guiding them to some spot x's ,
    and good on you for sharing a bit more with them,
    must have been tough going in that cruise craft 575 eh?
    don't get too soft,
    next you'll be expecting a french maid to bait your hooks, and crack your black cans for you too.
    see , after one night with charleville, i just can't stop myself...........
    over and out

NeilD

Sounds like a pretty good trip all round. Those ships can give you a bit of a start

Sounds like an absolutely fantastic night, after I have armed myself with some more knowledge and experience I would love to go out with you guys some night......if I ever get a night of w**k.
    Kel

Jeeze you blokes are gamer than me, if I had a container ship bearing down on me and felt the need to let them know they were getting too close I think I would be doing everything other than flash a light at him . They aren't exactly known for their stopping ability and tight turning circle

I saw that storm coming from home and thought it might catch a few people out, good thing it didn't live up to its looks and trouble you guys much. Good thinking not going hard on this trip and saving yourselves for river to mud challenge so the plastic boys can be put in their place once and for all

Hi to all the saturday night crew, OH WHAT A NIGHT .
    Glassed out ,thunder , lightning,wind,tanker,PB bay snapper, Webby Cobia Squire Flathead FREAKY. Get home 1hr later ,car takes out 2 light poles and power box on our footpath.
    Cops, ambo's,firies,towtrucks and Energex. All in all exciting night thanks for the invite.
    Cant wait til next week!!! whats next. No wonder you didnt stay close to stiff and I Overnighter,
    photos to come.
    TEZZA

PS. car occupants all survived :

Sissies hey Darren i didnt have much cabin during the pelting rain while i turned myself into a human lighthouse avoiding the Queen Mary ! I think Bruce (Charleville) had his share of the chattin but id say you done your fair share Enjoyed the whole nite and will be doing it again soon, nice to catch up with everyone, and i guess it could have been worst Darren you might of had the "GURU" WEBBY" in your "lightining earth rod"rig lmao! and him pullin in snapper while you catch a cold !What does he do in the dark corner ? lol.

CHEERS RAY PS I think we know who the sisies were!