Thread: Tweed Day with softies

Tweed Day with softies

Hi All

I have been sick as a dog for the last 2 weeks so havnt been for a fish at all,so made up for it on Monday with a full day on the water. One of my good mates arrived Sunday morning from South Africa for a visit, he was also a pro fisherman there and couldnt wait to get on the water. I took him for a drive through just about the whole Tweed River to show him what it looks like. He had never cast a soft plastic before in his life so showed him the basics and where to cast. We wet a line all over the place as I showed him the different spots and eventually decided to get down to some serious fishing once he had the hang of the luring. We got into a few good flatties to start off with and slowly worked our way around until we found a few good bream the best going 33cm to the fork. Alan picked it up very quickly and out-did me with the biggest bream but I managed to pip him with the flathead. We had a great day on the water enjoying a few rays of sunshine in between the scattered rain. Caught a good size pike,some small trevs and a heap of flatties and Bream. I recon the Tweed will really start firing in the next few weeks after all this rain. It must have been the most bream I have caught this winter in one session so cant wait for the rest of the week . Will be back for more tomorrow.

Cheers Rod

Re: Tweed Day with softies

Alan with the best Breambo for the day

Me with the 61cm flattie

Sunset at the ramp

One of the bream that went 31 to the fork

Creek_Vermin

Nice work rod. can't wait to get back down to wonderful tweed. love this time of year down there as it's rare you see another boat. Bit of a change from brissie... Cheers mate

gogecko

Onya rod, the comp fishers will love to hear that news.

Nice Bream there mate & flattie to boot!

Congrats to Alan. Solid Bream, and not a bad lizard either might I add. I reckon that all this fresh has stirred up the lizards a bit. Me and a mate managed 15 between us on the weekend, biggest 58cm. Looking forward to these next few days of sunshine.

Rich

some very nice bream and flatty rod, makes the day out on the water all worth while.

Was wondering where all your reports were Rod,

Good to hear that you are up and fishin

Steven

Steven

well done rod did u happen to chase any jewies?? some nice fish there in the end mate well done

cheers matt

I had a look but didnt spend too much time for them because I wanted to show Al the system.
    Will have a look next month when I have the time.

Rod

Coulda left the background in for me Rod HA HA HA HA

Good work mate on the bream. Had another day there on Sunday with JT, but he got only one legal (And that was only just!). I did drop a big bream right at the side of the boat, but other than that, all undersize bream....

Did get a 2kg (approx) GT on 2lb though... Bit bigger than the one on friday!

well done there Rod, Glad to see your back on deck
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........