Thread: Mud Island Sunday Night2 July

Re: Mud Island Sunday Night2 July

Bruce I am reminded by your wonderful story of another.
    I was reading an account of an around the world yachtsman who described being becalmed on a totally glassy sea at the new moon with the milky way being reflected on the surface of the water. He described the sensation as being adrift in outerspace. No horizon and starlight in three dimensions. Wow,, there, is an eerie image.

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    Yep cannot beat those brilliant nights on the water, i somethime want to stay out their forever and not come home.
    I often tell my wife the same thing when I come home. Some of those nights, when the winds drop and the seas flatten to plate glass are fantastic! Add the smells drifting across the sea - wood shavings, barbecues, wood fires - and the experience is obscenely beautiful.

Mate with your expertise now you have to come to the River to Mud, we may need some experience to show whats the best.
    I shall think about it. Have never seen myself good enough to be in any sort of comp, even one as benign as this one.

Quote Originally Posted by shayned
    Are you sure your not sick of your holiday yet??
    Do I sound like it? Hardly! Just think of it, the only routine in my life is that the rubbish bin has to be put out on Tuesday nights.

Quote Originally Posted by Great White
    Thanks for giving me renewed hope once again.

P.S any tips are welcomed.
    I listen intently to the advice of the real masters - Webby, Nugget, etc and then spend a lot of time on the water trying to emulate their experience. I read every word about fishing that I can. At the end of the day though, I am a boofhead beginner and am improving simply because I am spending a lot of time on the water and noticing when and where to be, based on the fishless trips as well as the bountiful ones. It is hard to beat Mud at sunset and Green at sunrise in my experience.

Thanks to everyone for your kind words. There a lot of people on this site whose talents and personal values are manifested in their posts and who I admire immensely. Getting some nice feedback on my style of writing posts where I take a bit more space than simply a sentence saying that I went to Mud and bagged out in 25 minutes is greatly appreciated.

aquarius

Nice read Charlie,
    Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger .
    Cheers Brent

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius
    Nice read Charlie,
    Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger .
    Cheers Brent
    That's what I did Yesterday!! Caught a very colourful Wrasse and put him in my salwater 60 Litre tank! ( To help him overcome his injuries from a hook down his mouth, of course!!)

Hey Bruce!!

I thought of a perfect solution that will help you tremendously next time you go out.

THE BENEFITS
    **Will double your catch.
    **Will lessen the expense of going.
    **Less preparation involved in getting ready for the trip.
    **Reduces frustration of having to go home early

The final point - you get to share with someone who appreciates the stars and perfumes wafting across the water... TAKE ME!!

I promise not to take a rod and reel with me. I will only be there to double your bag limit

I think that's a good deal, I'm sure that's an attractive offer LOL

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius
    Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger
    Quote Originally Posted by Scalem
    That's what I did Yesterday!! Caught a very colourful Wrasse and put him in my salwater 60 Litre tank!

Hmmm. I have an 88 litre esky but even f I just filled that with water, it still does not look big enough to support a bunch of squire swimming about. Would they just sit there? How do they turn around?

You did prompt me to think about turning some of that spare roll of chook wire in the shed into a keeper cage to hang over the side of the boat though. Nah - too clumsy an arrangement, I reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem
    I thought of a perfect solution that will help you tremendously next time you go out.

Hehehe! Brian - believe me the secret is the time of day - sunset is the way to go - although Solwata did well at sunrise in his report.

...and, oh yes, I use bait.

I know that those plastic things do work but I have not developed my nervous twitch well enough to be competent with them yet. Maybe that is it - perhaps all of the good SP experts suffer nervous twitches???

Nice read mate.

i love the nights too, i bank it, light a fire, drink some piss and fish all night long. gotta watch for the crocs though.

Again Mr Charleville! This is becoming an all too familiar habit - albeit one to be very proud of though! I second SCALEM - if you're ever in need of company (and i love a chinwag) or just require a humble deckie/netter, then i am a more than willing participant!

I too love the night stuff but have the utmost respect for the bay/ocean and hence don't traverse the waters alone past the river... If you're ever interested, PM me and i'll forward my details - oh, and i live at Manly!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Good work charleville seems like you are in trouble if you are bagging out in 25min best fix for that is to take 2 people that can't fish so then you can catch 15 squire

I know of one person who can't catch a fish at the moment
    It's all part of the fishing experience

I'm dreading the day that your long service leave is over, Bruce mate. You truly and exactly conjure up the beauty of a fishing exped.....I'm beginning to wonder if I nead to turn out at all when I can simply just sit back and share your experiences via your writings.

Thanks for sharing mate

kev..........who just loves the night.