Thread: Has the Curse Lifted?!?! MUD/BRISSIE THU 06/07

Has the Curse Lifted?!?! MUD/BRISSIE THU 06/07

Hi Fellow Ausfishers!

Well, after 2 long months of having to hitch a ride with TINN, and the humiliation of not landing a legal fish since nailing THAT Salmon (other than some just legal choppers and bream - but they don't count), i finally got my boat back on the weekend and was champing at the bit to get out there!! #So, with resident Ausfisher IBBO keen as mustard and not perturbed by the curse like TINN, we headed off from Whyte IS at 5.45am for Mud.

What super conditions, perhaps too good! #We motored over to the eastern side and found a nice stretch of bottom to drift across. #Numerous drifts and finally the 1st fish for the morning falling to IBBO - a little pretty looking Cod - IBBO's 1st saltwater Cod. #I say saltwater coz IBBO is a bit of a gun in freshwater with a PB of a 46lb Murray Cod!! And that was it folks! #There was the odd touch here and there but nothing more in the boat. #We bumped into a fellow fisher who was covering the same ground as us and he stated that it was very quiet for that area as it was usually productive! #Maybe i cursed the area too??

Anyway, we moved around to the northern side and found some nice drops for plenty of Grinners. #So, off to the NW side for drifting across some rough ground, but again the odd touch but nothing landed! #10.30am and we headed back to the front walls at the mouth only to find that it was so clear that we could pinpoint every skerritt sitting on the bottom in 3-4 metres. #By this stage, i think poor old IBBO was probably thinking TINN was right, T is cursed, and so is his boat, and his bait, and his plastics...

Back up the river and tried a new spot not far from where THAT Salmon was landed. #Drift, cast, drift, cast, until finally, tap tap bang! #A nice 40cm Squire and the curse busted! #Now you might say big woop, a 40cm squire but after 2 months of effort and frustration, and not to mention the humiliation of TINN's semi-sincere condolences, a 40cm squire is a nice pan sized keeper!! #Well, i was so excited that there was high fives all round as the weight had lifted - fishing really is a confidence thing!! #Just as i placed my fish in the esky, IBBO is on to one at 37cm. #So, with a bit of action imminent, we anchored up and started flicking SP's. #5 mins later and IBBO is onto another at 40cm. #Another few hits and the old Port Security Patrol makes a beeline for us! #

'Mate, you're going to have to move to 30 metres away!' 'But there's no sign here saying that' i respond! #'It's a restricted area and you're going to have to move!' #Damn i'm thinking - i wanted to ask him if i looked like a terrorist to him but then thought my Arab looks might not be conducive to a negative response - tounge kept in mouth! #Bugger, the only spot that fired for us all morning and we had to move! #Oh well, a few drifts up the river and called it quits for the morning!

While we didn't catch a great deal, i was still ecstatic with the mornings effort - great company (thanks IBBO), a gorgeous day on the water, the boat ran like a dream (touch wood), and i finally nailed a fish!! #Gee, life is good!!!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: Has the Curse Lifted?!?! MUD/BRISSIE THU 06/07

Ibbo's Squire...

Ibbo's Cod...

aquarius

G,Day T1, I don't reckon it was the curse #just clear water and i'm not a big fan of the full moons.
    I prefer and have had better luck around the New and Quarter Moons.
    But in saying that i just can't wait to get out there because any chance to fish is a good day.
    Glad you guys got a small feed and pity you had to move on from that prime location.
    Cheers #Brent

Craigus

Well done T1 and IBBO . . . . the curse has finally lifted.
    I would be happy with a good 40cm squire anyday.
    I some how dont think Tinn will agree on the lifting of the curse.

BRENT: strange isn't it the full moon! When i was right into beach fishing in the mid to late 90's, the best catches came around the full moon periods. You're right about the clear, the only fish that don't seem to be affected are you surface feeders such as Tailor!

CRAIG: I reckon it's TINN's turn to be hit by the curse after his Jewie last Friday night - hence why i reckon he's bailed out this weekend!

Congratulations T1!!!

I would be happy with any legal squire!

Looks like you had a good time regardless of the fishing, I am glad that you at back on the water!

Janine

Nice to see you back in action!

I also fished Mud yesterday but in the evening. No squire keepers this time but took home a good feed of tailor, bream and one estuary cod. Nothing worth photographing, though. Nice night but pretty quiet. Mud is good at sunset.

T1 catches one fish and he thinks the curse is broken # it is going to take more than one fish to convince me. Well done for catching one fish T1 #[smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
    but I can't stop laughing how excited you are. Like a little kid who caught his first fish #

IBBo you out fished T1 well done. Poor T1 outfished again #
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Good to see you out again T. It doesnt matter if it is 1 fish or 50, you have broken the curse. Well done.

Kel

Has the curse lifted? - Well only time will tell I suppose, it was certainly mentioned throughout the morning ( by myself) before we landed the squire. #

Tinn funny post man # #I'm sure T1 will have something to say.

It was a beautiful day with great company - Thanks T1 may there be many more.

In the end it was persistance that caught the fish - when we came back in at midday - dead low tide many would have thrown in the towel, but we kept casting and ended up getting a good feed in the end.

P.S T1 - I think we were told to move because you look like a terrorist.

Ibbo

Yes, I am like a big kid in a lollie shop! #Especially when it comes to fishing! [smiley=vrolijk_26.gif]

Now, young TINN! #Let me just say that since we started fishing together, who has put you on to the spots?!?! #It's amazing how you conveniently forget isn't it that you have not put me on to one spot yet that has been productive! #The night you guided us out on a safari in big 'Fillets' boat landed zilch - i had to take control and move us to spots that saved some face for the night... including a nice Cod that you landed! #Yes yes yes, and on that night i was outfished too, but i derived great pleasure from other people catching fish in my spots! #[smiley=guitarist.gif] Coz that's the sort of guy i am!

And even though IBBO outfished me, it was great to see him put a small piece of advice that i gave him into practice that helped him hook his 40cm Squire!! #[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

As for the terrorist bit IBBO, it can be handy sometimes looking like one - just not when fishing in the Brissie river #[smiley=rifle.gif]! #Yes, and may there be many more to come...

Thanks Janine, Charlie & Kel! #It's great to be back on the waters!!

Take Care T

Geeee I don't T1 where you are pulling all these stories from but I will have to take you back to my spot X near straddie for a session. We need low tide to be at 7.00 or 8.00 at night. I will be promising you a fish at this spot and if you don't catch one I will give you one of mine
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Gee, can't wait for that one! Can just see it now.....

'Gee TINN, are you sure we're in the right spot?' 'Yeah T, it was between that marker and that one, lined up with those rocks, which are aligned with the galactial rays emitting from the milky way to the left of the Southern Cross... divided by the number of tools in a Sidchrome Tool set!!' 'Ok TINN, when was the last time you fished here?' 'Oh, i was 10 but that shouldn't change anything....'

And it continues... we'll end up at one of my spots for sure to save face (again!)!

T

het T1 was that you in the tinny with the canvas spray sheets on the bow rails. I was in the blue fibreglass boat with two kids in tow.
    richard