Thread: Nundah CK - no go

Nundah CK - no go

A few people were lamenting in previous posts the fact people do not post about trips where fishing was slow. Well here is one for you.

Fished Nundah creek this afternoon -- plastics only. Run in tide - water quality was good. Tried the mouth of all the drains as you go up the creek plus any other structure on the sounder. Not a scale to be seen. Came back to Cabbage Tree and tried beside (under) the trawlers and also under the co op jetty. Still no good -- blowing too hard to try out the front.

Still it was a pleasant afternoon

onehellofafisherma

Re: Nundah CK - no go

"Good on ya mate" thanks for the report, I was thinking about a trip up the creek this arvo myself, but chickened out when I saw the white caps at the mouth. Figured I would tidy up my fishing gear instead. I'll head up the creek again early Friday Arvo instead, Did you soak a bait at all or was it a 100% artificial session.
    Ive had a bit of fun lately in the mouth of Nundah Crk. on small Bullnose Whalers. the biggest Ive caught lately went about 1.2 M heaps of fun on light main line. Live Mullet and hearings go well. they seem to like that strech between the mouth and that small island on the right, where all the bottom feature is. MIght see you up there one of these days

This was a plastics only session. Talked to a guy fishing at the ramp (one near the co op) and he had just got smoked by something big - might have been one of your whalers.
    Has the creek been fishing OK for bream and flathead lately?

Paul it is still a great way to spend a day. I would rather be there than spending the day on an overtime shift at work, I was suppose to spend the day with my wife fishing the pine but the boss asked to do an extra shift to cover for someone else. I like the way you spent your day a hell of a lot more.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

onehellofafisherma

Bream have been on the small side mostly ( more throwbacks than any thing else) and the flattys have been a bit few and far between, but I live in hope "theres still a couple of big ones out there with my name on them"

Yeah -- the water down there looks really fishy

I agree with slow fishing posts. Just check out T1's latest installment. There's another eg of slow fishing but at least heaps of fun was had.

Richy

The rocky mouth of Nundah Creek (where it joins Cabbage Tree Creek) at low tide is always a good spot for good sized lizards too. Have done well here with prawn/shrimp SP imitations.

G.
    ====================
    Hobie Outback 2012 &
    Hobie Oasis 2012
    ====================

Those rocks at the mouth at Nundah are a bit of a worry, hit bottom there once in the old tinny and took a bit of paint off the prop. Is there an easy way through?
    Horny

Live every day as if it's your last - for one day you're sure to be right!

Creek_Vermin

I've fished nundah a lot with plastics and have found it to be awesome from april to june. After june they seem to head out to the mouth of cab tree and up the creek as well. Two years ago I gave it a real hiding and was getting between 10 and 20 fish a session. Then as soon as the end of june came along they disappeared. Maybe it's happened this year as well. Cheers

Tried around the mouth with prawn imitations but no lizards -- tide may have been too full. Interesting about the April to June window - wonder if this corresponds with prawns running in the creek.

paul

Creek_Vermin

Good chance of that paul. I use prawnstars a lot and have found them to work better outside of the prawn season. I reckon the fish eat too many prawns (if there is such a thing) when they're thick and are happy to see a mullet/herring imitation swim by. Unfortunately we have to wait till april next year to amongst them again but that won't stop us trying. Cheers mate

thats great youve been getting bullies this time of year there mate. that little pocket goes beserk some nights in summer. some big girls there sometimes!

cuzza

Hornblower,

Nope! No easy way through the mouth at low tide. It's one place that you do try on a low tide. Mind you I'm a kayak fisho and have no problems with it myself.

Shandos,

Have found the prawn imitations work most times - not just during the prawn run. Lizards will strike at anything most the time. Though having said that, prawn imitations will obviously work probably better during the prawn run in April. I tend to use the Kokoda Power Prawn. There is 3 versions. But the one with black specs seems to work better than the others.

G.
    ====================
    Hobie Outback 2012 &
    Hobie Oasis 2012
    ====================