Thread: gold coast flattie

gold coast flattie

g'day first time chater bryan

went fishing at gold coast 2/7/06 took mum and dad fishing in my new boat had couldn't find a boat ramp open due to a fun run or samething had a look around the seaway for an hour or so the old man could try his new popper around the north wall he needed to get the hang of them as they were going to weipa in 2 week . no good on the north wall so i took them up to east side crab island fishin with sp (in training for the flathead classic thats what i tell my wife ) pop sat his 2' grab on the bottom (sp)not knowing but a 30cm flattie took it BUT also not knowing a even bigger flattie took that she was pushing 1m long i guess she came to boat twice and then she spat little flattie out and swam away
    but ended up bagging out on flatties all went back (can't get them all befor the classic ) fished from 0700 to 1130

im looking for the big girl tomorrow 23/7

thanks good luck

Re: gold coast flattie

Amazing. 1m flatty eats little 30cm flatty. That must have been a speccy site to see.
    When you go back tomorrow don't catch em all. I'm thinking bout entering the classic myself. Get any pics mate??

Rich

Well done on the flatties Bryan. When I was a kid my dad and his mate took me down to the pin. Bob(his work mate) catch a small flattie near the sand bank near short island. While bringing it in another very big flattie swallowed the smaller one whole and fortunately the hook stuck. When he pulled the big girl in the small flattie was still inside her mouth. Back in those days there was no regs about putting big girls back so he got 2 flatties for the price of one. I dont think i have ever seen anything so amazing and definiately didnt think I would hear about it again.

Welcome aboard mate looking forward to many posts. BTW when is the flattie classic?

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Bundy_Burp

Good job on landing the 2 flatties bryan I wish I could have some luck like that two for the price of one is a good deal in any mans language .

sorry rich no photos i wish i did . have a go at the flathead classic it a good weekend got to go it is 0500 got to find that big girl again let you know how i go

Bryansen,

shhhhh! Don't tell everyone about the monster flatty secret bait!

Seriously, that happened to me a couple of years ago, hooked a small 30cm'ish flatty on a renosky shad and then got monstered by a 95cm flatty on the way in(she wasn't even hooked, just didn't want to let go of dinner!)

When I slid her up the sand, she coughed out mr baby flatty who had the plastic well down inside his mouth. I took a quick measurement against my rod and pushed her back in the water, then unhooked the little guy and sent him on his way.

Not many people believe this story when I tell them but it just goes to show you what gutses those big mama flatties are.

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Welcome BRYAN!

The last flattie i caught (2 weeks ago) still had a little happy moment (Black Trev) flapping in its mouth when i landed it on a whole squid! We duly sent the little happy moment out as a livie to which it had its head ripped off but to have a 30cm flatty inhaled is something else!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

flatty classic
    5,6 and 7th october

http://www.flatheadclassic.com.au/fhc.htm

the cut off date for the early entry discount was on the 22nd of july so you have mised out on the discount

Im haveing anouther go at it this year
    was a bit of fun and 3 days off work to fish
    might seeya there

scotty

Thanks for letting me know scotty. If all goes well I will be on leave at the time. Hopefully I will see a few ausfisher there if my leave is approved.

Kel