Thread: Pine Monday 24th

Pine Monday 24th

Went down to the Pine at 9am intending to fish the turn and run-out. Had 3 spots in mind and the intention was to give an hour at spot X and to move on if no result. Spot X has consistently produced small cod but tackle losses are heavy. The thought of that big one weighed on my mind as it always does when I go there.

Had 3 runs in the hour resulting in two bust offs on snags and one pearler of a cod going nearly 10 cms The buggers always head straight for the snags!

Sick of losing tackle (8 lots in an hour) I went to fish the barge at castle hill for an hour with a total of 2 bites resulting in one very small whiting which wasn't even hooked....he was simply gagged on the hook

Then moved to the mouth of a creek which had produced a few trevors in the past and sat biteless for another hour

Thinking it couldn't get any worse and wondering whether to target vermin, I decided to fish the flats for a chance of a lizard but got a nice show as I passed under the highway bridge.

The next 90 minutes was frantic and had me down to fishing only one rod. 22 bream taken with 16 of 'em keepers and one going 34cm. 3 pike were put in the esky as bait for future and all the bream were returned. Bait was pilly cubes and further to the glo bead thread, the rod I packed in was the one without a bead. I reckon the glo bead got hit 3 times as much as the one without.

The bream were holed up on the downstream side of the bridge, 3rd stanchion out from the southern bank. Don't mind giving the position as the bloody traffic drove me batty Bream or no bream, it ain't really my idea of a bit of peace and quiet but at least I sharpened my reflexes

Dunno if it was simply a case of the fish being there and nowhere else or the state of the tide that brought 'em on. The time was 12. till 1.30 so it was mid ebb

No pics as I forgot the camera

Re: Pine Monday 24th

sounds like a great day on the water, regardless of the traffice noise.

Bundy_Burp

Great report and thanks for the heads up on where to have a throw

Creek_Vermin

Yeah had a tugh sess on the flatties sun arv with DAN88 VERY QUIET. only got 5 on plaks with only one over 50. sounds like an ord w end all round

Howdy Kev,
    Great report, I used to fish under the bridge for BREAM around the 2nd, 3rd pylons also on the run out tide, had a little system goin an everything.....

Collect some herring, poddys, up the stream from the bridge (stones throw),
    Back to the bridge, DOUBLE anchor (usually that involved a kind of angle hookup from say the 3rd, hangin toward the 2nd pylons, in a sense...?)
    Flick a handfull of chook pellets here an there,
    Always got good action knockin the head an tail of a herring an and pinning it to a smallish hook with a running pea sinker,
    Very simple but great fun, and used to get smoked by thumper BREAMBO's every winter
    And get the odd one...

Cheers again for the report ,
    Think I may have to visit the old faithful sometime soon.
    JayT

PS. I found the right tide on dusk was awsome, midweek with nearly zero boat traffic,
    Pretty nice place minnus the mad skiers an hoons....

Hey KingTin,

Do you ever eat pike or just use them for bait?

I snagged a bit of floating weed a couple of months back that had some line wrapped around it with a pike on the other end.

I even ate the sucker. Tasted pretty good too.

- Sea-Dog

R_K_HILL

Anyone know why there's no puddy mullet around at the moment? Haven't seemed to be able to net any!

Quote Originally Posted by JayT
    <snip>
    Pretty nice place minnus the mad skiers an hoons....
    Hi Jay,

Yeah, there's some beatiful spots there. Lovely day on the water with little wind and only 2 other boats all day...the quietest I've seen it in a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by R K HILL
    Anyone know why there's no puddy mullet around at the moment? Haven't seemed to be able to net any!

Mate, there's plenty you just have to sound around. Try here.

The first X in the mouth of the creek cast towards the northern bank but not too close as beware of snags.

the 2nd X on the tip of the mangrove at the mouth of the lagoon. There is a drop off there and they school up on the edge. At this spot they are usually big buggers.

The x in the lagoon. Sound around and lower anchor without making a noise. Berley up with chook pellets soaked into a firm ball that breaks slowly on the bottom. Watch the sounder and they'll come back. Berley every so often to keep 'em interested. There's next to no flow in this lagoon and the berley holds 'em there.

There are plenty of other spots so if you can't find 'em there, pm me and I'll give you a few more.........haven't bought mullet in yonks and I've even got 'em pickled

Good luck

Nice work Kev!! I tired the bridge on the runout last friday night.. only got bites from little bream and didn't manage one fish in the boat I know that they are there the last 2 months have been great under the bridge!! my PB bream came from that 3rd set of pillons 37cms

Never castnetted in the south pine, don't know the area that well yet.. have caught lots of mullet in the net just downstream of the main back water entrance along the clay bank, always seams to be mullet there too

See you on the water one of these days!!

Brandon...

hey guys...

Where exactly is that google map focused to...?? I have zoomed in up and down that pine river for the last 20mins... and when I plug the GPS co-ords into google earth that are displayed on the map - it flys me out to the deep blue somewhere off FNQ...

Just curious..

Brad :-)

Lol entry to the south pine you can see the highway in the bottom right corner of hte shot!! come up stream from the highway bridge and then left and you will find it

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH
    Nice work Kev!! I tired the bridge on the runout last friday night.. only got bites from little bream and didn't manage one fish in the boat I know that they are there the last 2 months have been great under the bridge!! my PB bream came from that 3rd set of pillons 37cms

Never castnetted in the south pine, don't know the area that well yet.. have caught lots of mullet in the net just downstream of the main back water entrance along the clay bank, always seams to be mullet there too

See you on the water one of these days!!

Brandon...

Yeah, hopefully we'll meet one day Brandon. Don't know what it is about that 3rd pylon but it holds prawns as well when the others don't. I have a feeling that it's due to the way the current hits it at an angle. If you anchor uptide of it dead in line, then you come to rest on anchor halfway between 2nd and 3rd. You have to anchor off, halfway between the 3rd and 4th pylon to line up on it.

That 2nd X is a pearler when the mullet are there. I've rarely missed at that spot and they're always big uns, big enough to fillet.

I've done a closer shot of the spot at the point of the lagoon as I missed another hot spot that nearly always holds poddies and herring. I'ts a small creek that runs round the back to the lagoon Just off the north bank and slightly out into the pine is the spot.

Quote Originally Posted by Sea-Dog
    Hey KingTin,

Do you ever eat pike or just use them for bait?

I snagged a bit of floating weed a couple of months back that had some line wrapped around it with a pike on the other end.

I even ate the sucker. Tasted pretty good too.

- Sea-Dog
    Yeah mate, the big ones go whole onto the barbie..........for the deckie of course She burns 'em to a frazzle and eats 'em like you would a potato chip