Thread: LOGAN RIVER

LOGAN RIVER

Ive been up the logan for the last 2 afternoons and haven't lost a bait , plenty of fish on the sounder so whats goin on guys pls help.tried all different rigs baits etc even plastics and lures still nuffin didnt even manage a crab in the pots is it the wind or is there something i dont know about

any help would great thanks shane

Re: LOGAN RIVER

Don't know mate, I fished Cobby Cobby yesterday and same thing. Was expecting at least a few juvenile bream to get hooked, but narda!!

Been thinking a bit more and I wonder if the rain followed by the SE change has done it?
    Horny

Live every day as if it's your last - for one day you're sure to be right!

i reckon all the slime & gunk in the river isn't doing any favors @ the moment

Nahhh......

The problem is that the fish have heard that I occasionally fish there, so have gone on a hunger strike.

The only thing that will eat my baits at the moment are deranged grinners.

Seems to be fairly quiet across the board -- I had a similar experience at Nerang and Nundah ck -- maybe I am losing my touch -- or could the moon or barametric pressure have sonething to do with it

paul

beatsworking where are u fishing in the logan there are 3 greens beacons near the prawn fram try fishing from there down to the month with yabbies and u will get a pull !

Fish near the river mouth on the outgoing tide, focus on the holes on the edges where the current isn't running so fast. and along the north side from lagoon island towards the river mouth. You can usually get some bites there.

Good Luck,
    oddbudman

Mate , the big change in weather over the last 2 days will have given the fish lockjaw. Big changes like we had always have a big effect on the fishing. I gave up on a mid week fish because of it better to snuggle up to the missus

Shane
    I have this problem as well.The reasons I reckon are straight forward. Wrong boat,wrong outboard,wrong fishing tackle,wrong bait,wrong location,wrong coffee ect.At present Im trying a different type of fishing,rat and mice luring.Yes, I have these rodents in my boat and mate its disgusting the mess they have made when I lifted up the floor boards
    Regards Peter.

Shane

Can really sympathise with you there mate - I've had the little furry buggers in my boat before ..... no matter what baits I used, couldn't get rid of them. You'd come out and see the baits chewed or gone, think bewdy no more chewed wiring, carpet, life jackets etc and they'd be back in a week. I reckon it just makes em a bit crook for a while & they came back hungrier. Ended up baiting rat traps with pieces of carrot smeared with peanut paste - it took all of 2 hours to get the first one, and over the course of a week nailed 4 of the b'stads - haven't seen one since.

Darty

Guys where would it be possible to put a kayak in towards the mouth of the Logan.
    Just bought myself a 2 person Viking and looking for some spots.
    Any suggestions around Redlands and creeks always appreciated.

imagineer ,
    if you go down mill rd (woongoolba ) pas the sugar mill , don't turn right go straight ahead toward thr prawn farm & as you get to the prawn farm fence turn left & follow dirt track to the water , there is a gravel ramp there ,it places you approx 400m short of marks rocks ( not far from the mouth )

Yep what darrmun said. This is just a little rock/mud ramp that is cut through the mangroves. I launch my little 10 ft tinny from there all the time. Also plan to go fishing there with my newly acquired Viking Espri. Did you get a Tempo Fisherman 2? They are a nice looking yak.
    Wayne D

---------------------------------------------------
    Hobie Revolution

Hi darty
    I have already had 4 baits completely disappear from the back of the boat.Might try your method with the rat traps.Was thinking of drowning the mongrels but being a law abiding citzen I dont want to waste water on these mongrels,in any case if they died Iwould find it hard to instruct the the boss to get rid of the corpses
    Have a good one

Got the Viking off Ebay a couple of weeks ago.
    was out at Wello point last week and had 2 dugong close enough to kiss.
    Seems like a great way of getting some exercise and having a nosey around.
    Thanks for the tip for Marks rocks.