Thread: Pine River Flatties - Mooloolabah Gar

Pine River Flatties - Mooloolabah Gar

Gday all,

Well I've been having a great time with the placcies lately and continued my run yesterday at the pine. I was on the sandy stretch on the southern side of the bridge to the left there at low tide, and was flicking 3' minnow bloodworm powerbaits and 3' watermelon fry's. I fish with 6lb fireline and 6lb Berkely Vanish. Picked up 8 flatties in an hour and a half. All were between 40-67cm kept three for dinner. And did they fight hard #

As for today went down to mooloolabah, sorry fella's this one is spot x and filled the bucket with sh!tl0ad of gar all big buggers to. For these it was just a matter of floating down a bit of unweighted prawn! also had a flick with the placcies.. of course! and landed three legal bream all taken on 3' minnows powerbaits, and of course the one that got away. well it was a case of cast.. twitch twitch twitch bang zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz straight for a pilon, i managed to get that off and out of there, and after a few more struggles and a tested drag i had him breach the surface. the biggest bream i have personally ever seen , would have been 45-48cm.. noway i could lift this guy up on the 6lb so i yelled for a net and with no one having one i watched him take one more dive for the barnical encrusted pilon and that was it! well maybe next time.

Cheers Guys, Joel #

Nov-rain

Re: Pine River Flatties - Mooloolabah Gar

heya jacksta,

was this pine river spot land-based ? sounds like u had heaps of fun.. would like to get out there one day...

there skinny looking buggers

The Pine is a great place to fish.

Good catch mate, I drove past at about 3pm and it looked so tempting, bloody appointments. Thanks for leaving a couple behind.

Mate you should have thrown them back, they don't look too flash !

Where are you fishing - Ethiopia ?

If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Gday fella's i guess they dont look all that tempting ay lol

Was fishing landbased on the southern side of the river and on the eastern side of the bridge, on the sandy stretch there good little spot, but still not the best Heres a pic of the gar after cleaning anyways!

Cheers Joel!

Corrr, they look alright, how big were they ?

I know the pine area you speak of, thanks for the tip !
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Nice work Jacksta. Any chance of getting some more detail on your Gar fishing rig ??

PK

Great catch Joel. Mixed bag for dinner, what time are we all invited for a feed.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Sanchez mate they were all around 30cm #

PK mate, the fishing rig well.. i wouldn't even call it a rig! just had a tiny long shank attatched to 6lb vanish and a little bit of fresh prawn, just a matter of letting sink down a few feet giving them a bit of line and yanking em out one by one! to easy #

And well kel, im sorry but ahh, well... #there all gone

Cheers guys, Joel

Good stuff Joel..

We should go fishin some time aye matey.. You sound like a keen young wippersnapper, do you only use sp's for flatties or do you kick it old school and use pillieis from time to time.. What sort of a set up have you got goin, perhaps a shakespeare with a 2000 size reel.. Thats what I use at the pine anyway.. I was on to a ripper of a taylor there recently but the prick bit me off. Mind you, I was only using 6lbs vanish for the trace. I was chasin little bream and flatties, so a nice taylor was a nice surprise.. We should head out one day though, keep up the good work matey!!

Really Mike, shame about the taylor mate, it happens.. looks like we both like the 6lb vanish ay apperantly the placcies for the flatties aswell. Would the Shakespear happen to be a $30 Intrepid or something else will catch ya on the weekend you ripsnorten crud muffin ay lol

Cheers Joel