Thread: Dohles Rocks

slymo

Dohles Rocks

We planned to fish the mouth of the North Pine River today with the kids and ended up going to Dohles Rocks. We hit the beach just upstream from the boat ramp at about 1.30pm. A very kind guy gave us his left over bait, which we ended up using later after we used up all our worms. Thanks again if you are reading this.

It looked like it was going to be a waste of time, as it was quite windy and on my third cast, the rain came down. > So with out even a nibble we packed up and headed back to the car. After a bite to eat, the rain eased and we decided to try fishing just down from the shop, where there are a couple of boats moored. The wind had dropped and the tide was just starting to turn. We were in to the fish straight away. After a session of about 3 hours we had 3 good whiting, a nice fat bream and a good pan sized flattie in the box. There were plenty of other fish caught as well and we lost count. The species caught were a small tailor, bream, whiting, flathead and something I didn’t recognise. I will attach a photo of the keepers and the one we didn’t know. We used live worms and fresh prawns as bait. The prawns were more successful than the worms, which surprised me.

In the end we had a great afternoon.

slymo

Re: Dohles Rocks

And the unidentified fish. Let me know if you know what it is.

looks like a pike mate
    they tend to go for moving baits....

Ciao,
    Huey

Hey sly,
    good to see you had a result!
    Good on ya..

Next time try throwing the 'unidentified' fish back out as a live bait!!!
    Pike make a good live as well as slab/strip bait.

Nice catch there, it's amazing how many fish are caught there despite the number of commercial trawlers that work the area.

Herby

Thats a good mixed bag sly. It is always good to keep the kids interested in fishing when you can take home a good feed. I hope you all have more days like you did. Well done. Im going to be fishing down that way on Sunday and Monday, depending on the weather gods.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Good feed there mate well done
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Bundy_Burp

Good report and a good mixed bag of fish well done .

PIKE!! 'Yummy!!' exclaims Mr Snapper & Cousin Jew....

Nice Work SLY!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

slymo

Thanks for the info on the pike. I couldn’t find it in Grant’s, is there another name for it? How would you rig them if you used them as bait?

They're often referred to as "Yellowtail" or "Sea Pike". (Grants page 546-7)

They're good fun for the kids to catch, particularly if you want to teach them luring because they will chase anything that's coloured and moving reasonably quickly. A mate used to fish for them for fun using just bits of red and yellow wool tied around the hook with the ends trailling.

You can eat em but the flesh is soft and there's quite a few bones. The best bet is to use them for bait.

I usually put one hook up through the nose, then another midway down the back, about under the dorsal fin. Sometimes I'll put a stinger on, but usually not. If it's a particularly big pike I might put two hooks along his back. I make the rig using heavy line (rather than wire or leader) I find the leader doesnt tie very well and the wire puts predators off. Mkae the rig anew each time so you can space the hooks to suit the bait. Always rig your livies with the head towards your rod, that way when they tire from pulling on the line they will sit with their head facing the current and the water fows over their gills to rejuvinate them, otherwise you'll find they die pretty fast.

Hmmm might have to change me name me thinks, slyman rhymes with simon, its a nick folks give me at work. slymo is a bit too similar, no offence slymo. The closest the rods got to the water on the weekend was in the car at byron, while i was doing my best vegetarian impersonation (read - off my chops) at Splendour in the grass. After todays recovery i have the rest of the week off to catch lots, planning to hit a couple of spots and do some more camping. Nice mixed bag slymo.
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

slymo

Sorry Slyman. #My mates have been calling me Slymo for about 20 years as it rhymes with my last name in a round about way. #They actually started off calling me Slime. #Anyway, as I only just joined the forum, I will change my ID. Perhaps Slime, or is that still too close? #Sound fishy enough! Cheers!

Welcome aboard Slime. Hope you have a great time and have lots of laughs.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

I used to get the name slime too, she'll be right. dont go changing it. we know who we are. welcome to the forum too, i've only been a member here for a short while myself, heaps of information available.

Simon
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/