FLATHEAD MAGIC! - Page 4
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: FLATHEAD MAGIC!

Re: FLATHEAD MAGIC!

Closer to 4'8'' Greenie. It was a day to remember.
    Lynchie

Red_Bull

Franco, absolutely great fish there mate! Sorry I'm a bit late onto the scene here, but thought I'd have to ask you a few questions:

What do you find to be the best jigging methods for these whopper lizards? I remember reading an article by Greenie that advocated the use of stiff rods and a rapid, aggressive triple-twitch jigging technique. Do you use this method too?

Also, what size jig heads do you find to be the most effective in shallow (under 4 m) Broadwater areas?

Anyway, great work again, you've reminded me of what I could be missing out on by watching the footy instead of getting out there!

Red Bull.

Mate there were posts from myself and Flick flack regarding this back in saltwater section (I think) so have a search.

Briefly
    - vary the techniques you work your lure with. That twitching technique Greenie uses in just one of several that work. I've fished with him heaps and its just one of the techniques He uses (but He does use it a lot!) If you use a grub simple lift and drops are fine, for example
    - make sure your lure pauses and hits the bottom so your line goes slack
    - watch your line so that you can strke when you see / feel the "bump" Strike hard so you set the hook then back off and let your rod & drag do the work
    - Use 1/8th to 1/2 an ounce in shallows depending on current. Usually 3/8th to start then change as needed
    - More important than twitch technique is actually finding where the fish are. Once you do that flathead are pretty dumb and like to eat lures that's why they're heaps of fun!

Hope that helps

Runaway_Bob

Franco,

Those fish were great!

I'm a bit dissapointed you did not adhere to Rossy's photo modelling style of showing all your tackle though!