, dont know about master
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
, dont know about master
![]()
![]()
Gotta give it when its dueI spend years figuring out beach fishing ,and i do allright when others dont ,but yet to have a session like you had .
George
At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
his story ready to tell,
St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'
Drew top effort mate.![]()
Amazing how things don't always go the way you want during a comp but that's fishing. Great fish from an even greater place.
www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.
awesome fish drew. Absolutely bloody incredible.
Were they caught on the run-out ?
low- 1/4 run in chris.
it had been a very strange week. infact for the entire week or two we were up there all the whiting would come off the start of the run up on the afternoon tide. you would catch 5-6 whiting in a matter of 1/2an hour and then wouldn't see another untill the following arvo at the same time. i fished all day and night for them but they would only feed then. i could even see them in the water but nothing could get them to take a bait until that 1/2 hour arvo burst.
for some reason they just werent feeding on both tides.
Great report
I can understand what you mean about beach fishing becoming less popular these days, but It can be frustratiing, buying bait, loading up the car with rods and stuff and come back empty handed EVERY time. We fish the beach near the SC airport (Coolum) and caught a lot of big bream this time last year. However, we have gone there many times this winter and caught nothing. Using every type of bait at low, high and mid tides and not even a bite. There are pipis washing up at times and occasionally sand worms, but only a few tiny dart to throw back.
Looks like you either have the gift.. or not.. and to catch what look like summer whiting the size of a cobia in the middle of winter. You gotta have some special fishing talents.
G'day Drew, sorry mate, but the i dont think the word "Monster" is appropriate for those fish.
I would use something like...oh, i dunno,...MUTANT!!!!
you are a freakin champion.
I love fishing from the sand, and thought i was doing alright, but you have made me feel both insignicant and bloody excited at the same time. always room for improvement i guess, but i reckon i could retire on a couple of fish like that, and i only just hit 30yo.
in conclusion, bloody well done.
damo
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.
they are excellent fish - biggest whiting and bream I've seen
Unbelievable fish Drew. Great report and pics
Brad
great stuff mate they were just awsome fish, that whiting was a cracker
thanks for the compliments fellas![]()
![]()
![]()
Damo, its great to hear ive excited you!!![]()
you know the best thing i ever did was join a fishing club, ive always had a talent and passion for fishing esspecialy surf fishing, grew up watching brownies coast watch and the likes of martin cowling, and all the other well known beach anglers spending every school holidays at rainbow . i had all these set ways for fishing using super light lines and next to no weight, then i bit the bullet and joined the Rainbow Beach Fishing Club to feed my addiction
well, i turned up at the first weigh in with my brother and opened the esky and laid out 4 nice whiting which i fished bloody hard for over the weekend as the weather was terrible..... i thought i had done pretty well and was interested to see what these old blokes had to weigh in.
well the first fella opened his esky and pulled out 5 whiting the would have swalloed mine whole, the 5 of the biggest dart id seen, 4-5 silver bream to about 1kg, 4 big fat tarwhine, a golden trevor abou 1kg, 4-5 good tailor prob upto abou2.5kg................. my jaw droped....... i had just been handed an arse whipping big time...
so i threw everything i know out the window, and studdied theses old guy's for the rest of the year, never mising a club comp. ive been in the rainbow club for about 5-6 years now and still watch them like a hawk gathering every bit of knowledge i can, the amount of knowlege they have on fishing the beaches is unbelivable. they dont need to keep log's or diaries, its all in there head and its just like a natural instinct for them after 40,50,60 years of beach fishing ya got to know a bit about it!
since joing the club my fishing has improved out of sight, im now catching bigger better quality fish, consistantly off the beaches, fishing is more enjoyable and conventional methods of fishing ie, rigs, baits, best times, best tides etc, have been thrown out the window and turned on there head.
it's great to knock around with these older fellas and the club enviroment is a great way to take the next step forward in your fishing.
the Rainbow Beach Fishing Club has both beach and reef catergory's, most of the boaties are more " social " members but the fellas who fish the beach are very serious fisherman and competition is fierce though very friendly.
in all it is these old guy's that are the masters im lucky enough to be an apprentice to them.
Drew
Geez Sniper, that is awesome mate
I haven't seen fish that big everFor many years I sat in the landy while my dad pulled worms out of the sand and fished, most of the time I would drive up and down the beach because I was bored, and because it shat him
!
Now the big C has almost stopped the old boy from throwing a line out and he keeps telling me to get my ar$e down there (Port Macquarie) so he can teach me worming B4 he carks it.
Now me thinks maybe I should do just that !
Fancy a whiting big enough to feed 2OMIGOD !!
Good on you, you are the surf champ !
Russ
PS, would you be offended if I grabbed the pics of the whiting & printed them off to show the old bloke ?
If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?![]()
Well done mate, probably some of the best fish if not THE best fish I have seen posted on Ausfish, to be able to read the conditions and react accordingley is a real skill that has paid off big time for you. No sounders or gps or big dollar boats, just plain hard work and skill. Bloody well done, just a shame they didnt turn up during the comp.
Cheers and Beers
"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies
if he can teach ya worming russ thats a skill you will have for life and you wont ever have to buy bait again when you head up the beach.
no probs about the photo's russ i could email them to you if you wish, is that the easiest? just send me a PM, im not sure if you can print them off this thread? anyone know?
Drew
wow nice whiting, bream THATS GOLD!
![]()