Thread: Very Late Pine report from the 1st of August.

Very Late Pine report from the 1st of August.

Hi all!! would have posted this earlier but I have been flat out the last few days fishing and moving furniture around the house anyways This particular morning last week my dad his sister and me headed up the pine in search of a flathead for my Aunt. after about only 10mins flicking plastics at our favorate flathead bank i get a twitch and set the hook to a train that takes me stright out of the cover away from the bank!! This made me think its gota be a Trevally Been trying to land one up noosa way for quite awhile now with no luck and this tuesday morning I managed to land one on a plastic near the bottom doing the old flathead bounce!!!!!!!!!! Went 48cms and took a good 1min or so to land with 14lb fireline and vanish 14lb leader. Well we gave the bank a hiding after this for one flathead about 50cms and a couple of little flaties. then nothing for awhile Well we moved around the corner to another lay and quickly got a couple of small flathead and a baby trev I think this was when my dad got one at 45 and my aunt landed another one about the same and right at the end of this bank, right in front of where a fisho was standing on the bank 10 mins before I throw out and light my smoke, go to wind the slack line in and bom!! another 50cms flathead we fished for quite awhile untill high without much happening. Then we ended up back at the first bank right on high tide and after a good working of the snags around it I hooked up to another good GT 3 GT's in one day!! I couldn't belive it this one was only 1cms smaller then the first one i got. Its the one in the second picture below. We kept fishing around this bank for awhile longer for nothing else, so we moved again this time to a bank my mate got his PB Flatie (84cms) on about this time last year but there wasn't any flathead there but........ we did run into another fish i have wanted to catch for a very long time and i didn't catch it ... neither did my dad!!!! My aunt who had tried a plastic for the first time ever landed a very pretty 40cm Jew The last time i saw a living jewie was up the pine last year, it was about 2 foot under the water but i could see its white belly 5 metres away from the snag he screamed into at the begining of the 10min fight.. I was using the same Plastic too if only it was this size!!!! Lol, but that wouldn't have done me Lol..

After this the fun died down and we decided to head home as we were planing another trip out the following morning to mud that got canceled and changed to Thursday and ended up being more a bait colecting trip than a fishing trip 20+ pike 2 taylor and not even a little squire >

here are the pics you should be able to workout the plastics i was using

Brandon...

R_K_HILL

Re: Very Late Pine report from the 1st of August.

Nice catch Brandon

freddyfish

Gday Brandon

Thats a great session for the Pine. Good pics and report.

Brad

Creek_Vermin

Top work brandon. Good to see a few trevs getting around the stinky pine.

Glad to see the holiday is treating you well and yes mate that is a nice trevally (times two) must have got the heart rate up a bit. That little area must be trevally central for the pine. Didn't your auntie do well for her first ever shot at soft plastics, she must have come close to outfishing both of you blokes. BY the way the photos were worth the wait.

If you fancy a short night time LB bream session this week give me a yell.

Good report mate.

Nice report and pics Brandon. Well done on the jewie and trevors. Says a lot about the water quality, I reckon, and you're fishing skills Well done mate.

A smile is the lighting system of the face, the cooling system of the head and the heating system
    of the heart.

top effort great pics

Thanks all was a great day on the water the quality of the water is very good/clear atm kingtin. i could see the bottom in a good 3 foot of water!! tried spying some flathead to throw a fly at but didn't spot any... Just relized i didn't post anything about friday either!! First cast got me a tiny flathead then I got another 3 Trevs but the one and only bigger one i busted at the boat trying to get him in via the leader won't be doing that again!!! Lol not quite as big as these ones but it did go for the snags witch was a bit different. Dad #also got a little bugger and i got 2 other little ones that had a huge amount of yellow on there bellies and pectoral fins shape was a GT but the colour put me off a bit.. didn't take any pics though if i get another one tomorrow arvo i will get a pic of it to post

Good fishing to you all!!!!
    Brandon...

Slient

Good report & pic's I like closer trevor with the calm water back ground...
    Glad to see Pine fire good species...
    Forward to your next report

Happy fishing
    Silent

great session and some great pics. Well done

Nice one Brandon some quality fish there sounds like you guys had a great day out.

Joe

Nice report and pics. Sounds like you had a great time