River to Mud Challenge
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: River to Mud Challenge

River to Mud Challenge

Thanks to Ausfish, Springwood Marine, Sundown Marine, Bush & Beach for the Donations [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Your support was greatfully accepted by those that took out the Prizes.
    Attendance
    Fieldy brooke Lucky Phill
    Foggy Fishing Rocks Dean
    Aquaries Steven78 Benno
    Mark Allniter Adamy
    Brenday Dave Crestcutter
    Longtail The Deckie Pinhead
    Ausfish Glen Court Webby
    Searaider 2 Jeremy T1
    Tinn Rakinray Chong
    Cheech Colin Fogs82
    Angla Horse keith
    Glenn Chief Garre
    Shayned Finding Time Harry 0
    Steveo Hi Yo Fishin Dan
    TOL Maria
    If i missed anyone sorry.
    The day started with a stiff s/westerly, but by mid arvo petered out to a glazed out bay.
    The Plastic boys went and did there thing, while the baitos anchored up and filled the bay with burley
    During the course of the arvo the Water Police checked all around Mud to see if they were sticking to the rules and later dropped in to the bbq with blow in the bags ready
    Thanks for the Help Fellas.
    As the arvo worn on, rumours were flying of big snapper catches like 8-12kg models
    (dont no who started these rumours)
    But a fair few made their limits before the sun had set.
    The best bite time, was definetly the change of tide and sundown which coencided with each other.
    Some of us had to leave them biting to make the bbq times.
    There were also rumours of big sharks, and one in particular being caught 3 times
    After the evening bbq, the die hards set off back out, only to find the island had shut down for the night, and no matter where they went and how many spot x's they tried, scales were hard to raise.
    So i belive a few bottles were sunk
    The morning bbq was attented by around 20, with a few hang overs evident
    Some personnel bay pb's were obtained also.
    Searaider 2 pb bay snapper 3kg
    Chong pb bay wobby 100kg so he reckons (pic needed)
    Allniter 2 bottles of scotch
    Lucky Phill and the Deckie slept together
    Some one dropped a 12kg (so they reckon) snapper at the boat.
    The first cup of coffee make from a coke can.
    There were also some weird species caught.
    Searaider 2 with hopefully post some pics of two we caught.
    Now to the Sad Part.
    Best Fish Foggy 5.8kg snap on Bloody Plastics
    Best Bait Snapper Searaider 2 3kg
    Some others good snaps Tinn 1.2kg Ludky Phill 1.5kg, Webby 2.7kg, 2kg, Chong 1.2kg
    Best Bream Cheech 640g
    Runner Up The Deckie 600g
    Best Flathead Shayned 1.2kg
    Tailor Longtail 600g
    Odd Species Prizes when to Brenday Tuskie, Fishin Dan E/Cod, Allniter Sweetlip, Maria Whiting.
    Best Catch and Release Chong 100kg wobby
    Lucky Number Chief Ausfish Scales
    Lucky Number Brooke
    Steve also handed out a variety of Ausfish tokens like stickers and stubby holders.
    The event finished around 9.30am.
    great turn out fellas and felines,
    Might have to have a annunal event with the standings at one a piece
    2005 bait
    2006 platics.

Congrats to Foggy for his nice snap, now where do i get one of those big plastics thingies mate.
    Below is the motely crew of snapper catchers.

Re: River to Mud Challenge

Great report Webby( shouldn't it be in the reports section?)

I'm in for the yearly event and with the growing success of the plastics you'll be lucky to have a bait fisho left in a few years!!

Thanks also to Shayned who was my deckie for the day and also managed to get the biggest flathead( also on plastics)not to shabby for a guy that only started using them a few weeks ago !! ( for some reason he seemed to have less hair than when we last met)

Ps. thanks for the snag Steve!

PPs. 80 cm Foggy !!!What a ripper! I said that about fifty times last night!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

aquarius

Steven and i had an early pre fish with the plastics and scored 3 squire 37cm, 43 & 50cms.
    We went and registered our names for the comp at 1pm and then headed out for the second attempt.
    Drifted alongsige Foggy and a few other ausfishers with only a few undersize squire being throwin back.
    Saw Foggy gaff that nice snapper while holding his rod in the other hand.
    Perfect gaff shot mate!!!
    Those new plastics sure produce.
    Sundown and then it happened i encountered stomach cramps of the worst kind and that was the end of the river to mud session for me and Steve.
    Headed home around 1am.
    Sorry Brian just wasn,t my weekend.
    Congratulations to those ausfishers who won the prizes.
    Cheers Brent

Well done to all who attended, and congratulations to the prize winners - Foggy awesome catch mate well done. Please Webby lets make this an annual event so I can come next year instead of working >

Cheers and beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Went down about 7.30 this morning to meet up with some of the troops. Was really good to meet most of you there and put faces to names I see on the boards quite often.

Steve, Webby, Paul, Phill, T1 and Tinn, Cheech & Chong and Searaider 2 just to name a few.

Saw some very good fish as well. Shame I missed Pinhead and Shayned.

I'm sure I speak on behalf of everyone in thanking the sponsors who provided the prizes etc - Mr Steve Ausfish himself, Springwood Marine, Sundown Marine and Bush n Beach Fishing Magazine. Big thanks as well as Brian (Webby) for pulling together and managing such a great little competition/MnG [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Had a great time - some more sleep would go nicely though. Had a lot of laughs, met some more people and caught a few fish in great conditions. Cheers for the ride Darren - much appreciated. Mark, you'd best get to the doc pretty soon mate

Benno

Yes, thanks to Webby, Steve and all the sponsors for a good turn out, good prizes and good fun.

Good snapper Foggy , bloody frangers ......

Thanks for the laughs Benno, the back of the boat ended up looking like the local tip,
    with empties galore and stinkin bait everywhere.
    But what a bewdiful night,
    I'm not sure who won the bum-belching competition that lasted all night,
    but after Mark has seen the doc for a rebore, you shouldn't be far behind for an appointment either Ben...

Next year we'll try a bit harder ...

NeilD

Thats what fishing comps should be all about. The fish certainly took a second'to the M & G aspect. It was my first opportunity to meet a lot of the regulars and I certainly look forward to the next one.

Once again, special thanks to Webby and Steve for running the bash and to the sponsors who supported it. I reckon we have the makings of a great annual event [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Darryl

Yeah ditto to what everyone else has said, bloody great event, except for the fact one of my carbies decided to shite a needle and seat (wasn't the cruise tank as first thought) so i had a slow trip back to Russell and missed out on the evening weigh in and the nightly activities, just wasnt my day, Webby musta passed his curse onto me.

Well done to foggy , awsome fish matey. Thanks to all our sponsors as well .... Even though my visit was brief..

Darryl.

Yep Thanks guys for organising. The only downside was the plastics beating bait. If it wasn't for Foggy,,, it would have been bait all the way. Oh well. Maybe next year.

Was also great to get Chong down from Maryborough for the event. That's a long trip to the boat ramp.

Thanks to Webby for organising such a great event , was good to meet some more ausfishers Darryl , hope you get the motor probs sorted soon mate

congrats to foggy , thats an awesome snapper mate . when you showed me that plastic i thought ' going to be a big fish that hits that '

thanks to all the sponsors that donated the prizes ( speaking of which , how do i pick mine up? )

when's the next one ????

Jason.
    ... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....

The trip down from Agnes was worth it. Met some newbies as well as the old farts and faces.

I took Brooke ( daughter ) for an early start and she left me for dead in the boated bream stakes, but hey ! pics attached.

Thanks Brian, Steve and the sponsors for the rewards and efforts.

This was my first trip out to Moreton Bay in nearly 12 months and boy has the river mouth changed. Also the area around Mud Island with the withdrawl of the oyster leases ( maybe that's why the Bream didn't show up ? ). The night was dark and with Captain SteerCrooked on song, it was going to be interesting. He was going to take us out of the river , via a new river entrance ( under the fuel wharf ) apparently But we made it to the open spaces after a small " nudge ' on some structure prior to leaving the river mouth

Once in a reasonable spot, berley out and fish not playing the game, we headed to old faithful Spot X. Yeah well !!!!!!!!! Some Bream about, but the best was knocked off at the weigh-in by 40grams ( Craig > ).

Heading back in we stopped at an area closely guarded because of possible terrorist activities where we promptly boated some nice " Prosser "

NO Brian, The-Deckie slept in his own car

Thanks to Ray for bringing along the DVD and TV, Paul for the Genny and Webby for NOT bringing something to boil water in

Not being in Brisvegas for so long and then popping out to see "Queen Street " was amazing. I don't believe I have seen that many boats in such a small area before.

There was the usual ramp problems with some people ( none-Ausfishers ) just NOT having a clue. OH, except for Hi-Yo who screamed out " I have a floater ". OH, I see, your boat is floating away with the tide...........jeez, for a minute there... Oh, we won't go there, but you'all know what the rest of us thought !!!!!!!!

Before the rumour starts, YES, it is true I had my finger ' bitten ' by a bream, and yes, it did draw blood, OK< YES, I did scream like a schoolgirl.........

Congratulations to the Plastic Boys, top effort, but wait until next year !!!!

Thanks Paul for the ' deckie spot ' on ya boat and all the preparation etc.

pic of Brookes Bream...440gms

OH, the gererator and the Jug contest. Jug won

Not exactly ramp rage, but notice 4 boats on a 3 boat ramp.

mmmmmm !

The Nissan Cinema.

Great jigging, marlin , barra and Spanish action, while some libation was being partaken of !!!!!