Thread: 08-04-2006 Fishing at Bribie - Great Day

Mullet_Musketeer

08-04-2006 Fishing at Bribie - Great Day

I decided to fish the Pumicestone Passage at Bribie Island so headed up the coast from Brisbane and arrived about 5.00 am. I headed up to Whites Creek on the Island parked up and waded out to the junction of the creek and the passage which was a fairly long walk. I fished around and was bloody cold but after about twenty minutes I hooked up with a 25 cm Dusky Flathead on a 3” GULP Pumpkinseed Minnow Grub. I put him back and continued to wade up and down the edge of the channel casting up into the run out tide and just letting the plastic float down with the occasional jig or jerk. At about 6.00 am I got a better Dusky Flathead – 43 cm and realised I had not brought the keeper bag and so wrapped him in a rag and made the long walk back to the car and the esky. I was glad of the opportunity to warm up although the sun was up now.

I decided to change spots and drove down to Buckleys Hole where there is a great drop off about 30 metres out and you can fish it from shore at low tide. I wandered out and there were already a couple of blokes there. One was using plastics and one was using live mullet. I cast out over the drop off and instantly hooked up and then dropped a decent Yellowfin Bream using the 2” GULP Shrimp. I then had a great hour or so catching five Bream - all keepers - #ranging from 24cm to 31 cm all on either the 3” GULP Shrimp or the 3” GULP Pumpkinseed Minnow Grub. The guy next to me with the live mullet hooked a decent Snapper just off the edge of the drop off ( perhaps 3 or 4 kg) but having battled it for about ten minutes and even got it out of a snag - #lost it as he was towing it up the beach. Never seen a Snapper caught of the bank like that so I am really excited now and thinking of going a bit heavier on my gear!

Re: 08-04-2006 Fishing at Bribie - Great Day

great morning there i bet. also great to see the bloke get snapper off the banks. they reckon it drops bloody deep there! where exactly is buckleys? is it up near red beach or down the other end. never fished buckleys but heard lots about it and always wanted to try. thanks heaps.

cuzza

Re: 08-04-2006 Fishing at Bribie - Great Day

Hey Mullett. Great report mate. I am interested in finding out where buckleys is as well. My brother in law is coming out from germany next month. A mate and I are going to take him for a couple of nights of fishing. 1 night will be up the pine and the other night will be around bribie, I think you have solved one problem of where to fish. Keep up the great fishing reports and welcome to the site.

Kel