Mud Island  Another "stink boy" converted 2 s
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mud Island  Another "stink boy" converted 2 s

Mud Island  Another "stink boy" converted 2 s

Made a late decision to head to the usual haunt at Mud in an attempt to get a snapper for a family BBQ today. Got to Mud about 4.30pm and proceeded to fish with my japanese plastics with 1/8 jig heads with 7/0 hooks. Things were quiet until abot 5.30pm then all hell broke loose. One after the other squire ranging from 30 to 45cm made there way to the boat. Also had 3 pretty serious bustoffs during that time on 15 and 20lb tackle. The big fish really love these new plastics. Just on dark, a mate of mine, who by this stage was converted to plastics, hooked up solid on a freight train. Only problem was that this fish had hit on the 8lb gear and after loosing so many big fish in this session, my hopes were not high of actually landing it. After about 10minutes and countless solid runs and a few anxious moments, a nice fish of 79cm and 5.4kg came to the net. The smile says it all and it will be enjoyed by all at the BBQ today. Love it when a hastily made plan comes together. For the record, we must have released about 15 legal squire from 35cm to 48cm.

Another entered into the 5kg bay plastics club.

Also met fellow ausfisher Fishing Dan yesterday. Good to meet you mate and yeh lets catch up soon for a fish.

Tight lines

Foggy

Re: Mud Another "stink boy" converted

Good solid fish

Re: Mud Another "stink boy" converted

Awesome looking fish mate! Congrats on the effort! Bet the family bbq will go off like a treat now with the Snapper!

Re: Mud Island Another "stink boy" converted 2 s

Well done, awesome fish!

Well Done, a great fish, and just more evidence for the bait vs SP competition.
    8lb line makes it all the more rewarding

Congrats

Hye Foggy,
    which side of Mud were you fishing? and how deep?

I'm heading out there early tomorrow, so I'm keen for any current info.

Craigus

Well done at getting your mate on a good fish and converting him to the darkside foggy. That is a great bay snapper and would be very rewarding on 8lb.

Hi Foggy.

I don't know what you normally do for a crust, but if ever you think seriously about doing a charter business using SP's in the bay, I am sure there's a few people who will pay good dollars to go fishing with you!! Well done, very inspiring to see you get onto quality regularly.

That is an awesome fish to get at Mud. Well done on what appears to have been a stunning outing.

Nice one Foggy! I was wondering how you had gone.... Looks like you had a very good arvo! Chris's smile says it all doesn't i! He was saying before you got back to the car that he wasn't quite sure about "those stupid plastic thingies"... Bet he's converted know!

Great to meet you yesterday. Anytime you wanna go, just let me know!

Also could you PM me that link you mentioned...

Hey FOGGY!

'GOOD, SOLID FISH' is a bit of an understatement! That is a TOP fish!!

I assume you got it in the usual 'W10' spot at Mud?!?!?

Take Care T

PS: Still looking at importing as mentioned at the Classic? PM if you are, i'd be a propsective purchaser...
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Enjoy the barbie

Quote Originally Posted by foggy
    Got to Mud about 4.30pm and proceeded to fish with my japanese plastics with 1/8 jig heads with 7/0 hooks. For the record, we must have released about 15 legal squire from 35cm to 48cm.

Foggy
    Foggy - you getting these 35cm on the 7/0 ???

NeilD

Re: Mud Island  Another "stink boy" converted

A damn fine fish there. I reckon there would have been a few anxious moments on the light tackle

Re: Mud Island  Another "stink boy" converted

Foggy does it again.... Mate you are a walking advertisement for those new placcies... have to get out there soon and strap mine on. Excellent work Graham!! - did that Prop ever fit?

Adam