Thread: whats this Pinko called?

whats this Pinko called?

late report from Sunday

went out round mud, we were out on the north east side, big shows of fish on the bottom, all I could do was get the end of my plastics bitten off, my mate managed a couple of pike

Then on my last cast before we moved on I caught this fellow, anyone know what it is?
    Didn't get anything else for the day except #a few big hits, thats the way it go's sometimes.

we came across some big mac tuna busting up on the surface round the river mouth, chased em for a while but couldn't get any interest. Anyone got any good technics for getting these fellows?
    Juzo

Re: whats this Pinko called?

sounds like you had a nice day mate. As far as the fish goes pity he isnt about 60cm's bigger

Mate,
    I'm not sure exactly, the colours a bit difficult from the photo, but a scan of Grants and my best guesses are either:
    a juvenile nannygai (one of about 3 sub-species) pages 165-166 & 356-357
    or a type of Hussar page 369-371

Whatever it's called, by the way that hooks rigged through the nose you look like you were almost about to troll it or send it back down.

I caught the exact same fish up at Bribie a couple of months ago (slightly bigger though.......... ) and I think its a juvenile nannygai. Beautiful looking fish straight out of the water.

R_K_HILL

Inbred Flathead

Hey Juzo,

I met you a couple of weeks ago at Cleveland. Havent seen many posts from you guys lately. Must be havin a dry spell like i have been for the last couple of weeks. Broke my hodoo on the weekend just gone after my boss' jinx lasted about a month >. Couldn't tell you what that ugly thing is your holding never seen one before.

When working the tuna if they're a bit skittish i usually throw plastics at them and this seem to do the trick. Try watchin the school after it goes down , you can usually see a darker colour moving through the water. ( If weather allows) Cast ahead of the school and let ur plastic sink in front of them. Also try some poppers like the 105 Halco Roosterpop or something similar. But sometimes theyjust dont fell like eating anything you throw at them. If throwing slugs try and find out the size of the bait they are chewing on and match the size.

You guys going to take that Attack boat into the flathead classic this year? I might go have a prefish down the Aldershots and Comera on Saturday. Weather looks pretty good at the moment.

Cheers Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

I don't think its a Nannygai, their tail is distinctly forked, rather than flat across the back. It looks like a Hussar, common in SE Qld, 25cm minimum and a bag limit of 10.

yeah

I thought it was a Nannigai, but all my pics of them have a forked tail, and reckon they dont come up this far. but I've seen reports of em from up north so I guess theres some other species, whatever it is, it looked like it belongs down deep somewhere, not in the shallows of mud.

ratherbefishin, I reckon it would make a good live bait , and I caught it about halfway up the water column on the retrieve.

Hey whitey,

yeah been on a bit of a dry spell since last time I saw you, caught my first Jack that night, since then the only thing of mention for me was a pb Bream at 39cm.

has been pretty lean for me since then, lots of nothing on nice days

I might be up for the classic this year, will have to convince Johnny (fishcrazy), to bring his casting platform down, otherwise my boat will on in order.
    But I have a feeling that I'm already booked to get married around then, so the wedding and subsequent honeymoon are going to clash with it. Might be a bit hard to reschedual

good luck on Sat if you go out, I'm heading down to brunswick heads to go out on my uncles new boat (40ft cat, yee-haa). Do you know any good reefs off brunswick to fish? thanks for the tips on the mac tuna, will give that a go next time

Juzo

Its a bullseye perch.

I have caught quite a few around Wello Point.

Wishey
    Bush N Beach Fishing Magazine
    4BC 1116
    "BERKLEY" Catch More Fish
    Fish Head Fishing Tackle

A bullseye perch eh? never heard of one, do they have a leagle size limit? Any good eating?
    this fellow looked alright to eat (bit small of course)

Red Bullseye. Caught heaps around wello, even some at a decent size.
    Have always thrown them back though

Same thing I caught at bribie last weekend, some nice looking spikes on top

bigeye, (Priacanthus macracanthus)

Quote Originally Posted by R K HILL
    Inbred Flathead
    very good made me laugh