Thread: Mud Island Virgin - Heading out in the morning

Mud Island Virgin - Heading out in the morning

Hi All,
    I am thinking of heading out to Mud Island at around 0430 tomorrow morning. Could any of you guys offer any advice as to where to launch from and what side of the island to fish?
    I have a good boat - 3.95 metre Bluefin with a 30 merc on the back, lights, sounder, GPS, 27Meg radio. The weather report looks pretty good - Saturday: Variable winds to 10 knots shifting E/NE at 10/15 knots by the afternoon. Seas to 0.7 metres. If I get away early enough I should be back at around 0900.
    I have been reading the posts about all the Squire and Snapper around and I want to give it a go, so any advice would be greatly appreciated (especially where to fish!).
    Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Re: Mud Island Virgin - Heading out in the morning

I will also report tomorrow what I do or don't catch!

Also, is there anything treacherous that I should look out for (besides the wind).
    Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

check out adamy's latest report in the estuary's section
    he and i went there last night

Hey Lunatic,

Not an expert on Mud... but theres heaps on info in these pages... also try this link: http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1155614048 Try a place we call the car park - if you want to know why just go there on a Fri, sat, Sun evening... see if you can find a "park"... but thats one spot. Should be a few ppl there this arvo - then it will etched in your memory forever.

Good luck.

Adam

Thanks for all the information guys.

One moe piece of advice I need. What sort of anchor will I take out??

Lunatic

reef anchor!!

Trying to pull a sand anchor out of coral and large broken up coral rocks isn't too easy

Thanks guys.

I am afraid I am a "stink" boy, so I am going to head out with pillies and squid.

I have an assortment of placcy's to take out as well, but have not had much success to date, but I might have a flick too.

Hopefully the gods will be kind to me weatherwise. The weather report looks pretty good though.
    I caught a bunch of gar last time I was at North Pine dam, so I might use them for berley and bait.

Lunatic

by the way, is anyone else heading to Mud in the morning?

If so, and you seem me and my boat (Bluefin 3.9) give me a yell!

I will also have the 27Meg on, and will answer to "Lunatic".

Lunatic

Mate, I'm heading over to Mud tomorrow, but will be over @ Moreton first, so you may be gone by the time I've come back, but I'll keep an eye out.

Based on the current weather report for tomorrow, you would be right to stay out until noon until the wind picks up, so don't stress about coming back by 9am.

Depending on whether you are based northside or southside will depend on the best ramp. For northside I would go Kedron Brook, for Southside try Fisherman Isl or Manly boat harbour ramps. It's run in tide all tomorrow afternoon, so you would be right to come out the river mouth (if you don't think there's such as thing as the Brisbane river bar, try coming in with a NE'er on a runout tide). If you go from Kedron Brook, it's pretty much a straight line from the entrance to Mud - just watch the Bris river entrance beacons

A small sand anchor will be fine. Theres not much solid structure left at Mud and the current is not too bad there. You might have trouble finding something to latch onto with a reef anchor.

As for spots, most people go for the north cardinal or the reefs on the eastern side. If you've got a sounder you will quickly find the drop-offs and bottom structure. Find somewhere with bait, which shouldn't be hard, and anchor up. Most of the action will be between 6-10 metres.

Hope this helps.

Alan.

Thanks Alan, that helps a lot.
    I am on the northside so I think I will head out from Nudgee.
    See you out there!
    Lunatic

Hi Ausfishers!

Here is the results of all of your good advice:
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB...m=1155949258/0

Lunatic