Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out! - Page 2

Thread: Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out!

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Re: Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out!

Well done guys

Steven

Thanks guys,

I don't think I would have been as successful without all the good advice from my fellow Ausfishers!

I am still on a high from such a great fishing session, so is my mate.

It doesn't get any better than that.

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Yeah Nice! The hard part is doing it again but you've at least done it once so you know what works!

Take Care T

PS Now i know the Squiries have moved from Wello to Mud in the past week because it has been great at Mud but very poor at Wello!
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

The final destination (for two of them) with a nice marinade and a glass of red.
    Yum!

Luantic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Close up...

Jealous as!!! Next time keep my big fat trap shut Just kidding... congrats and to think we were wasting our time at Wello and St helena oh well theres always next time I suppose.

Well done mate, i will post my first trip post in the morning as I dont have my camera with me at the moment. I too will be back

Well done mate. You have done very well.... What time should we be around to help you eat the rest of your catch?

Kel

good on you boys, you've discovered the joys of mud!!
    richard

lunatic,

I was with Lone Wolf today (Sunday 20th) as part of our Mud Deflowering Session. We were using squid and pillies, but i think our problem was we were using pilly pieces, not whole on a gang. We were getting baited by the small stuff. Boated a couple of them but no snapper. Didn't see too many snapper being pulled in at the Car Park at around 0730. We bailed at around 0830. Did things improve? Anyone? Still a magical day out on the water, and slowly learning more about our own back yard. The possibilities are endless!!!!!

Barra

G'day Barra,
    Yeah, we were using the whole pilly, but we also had a bag of squid which also proved successful. We would put a few squid on the gang so it presented pretty well.
    I don't know about technique, time of day, bait, the alignment of the planets, whether we are folders or scrunchers - or whether it was just one of those freak days where everything goes right that contributed to our success. I just know that it was one of the best days fishing I have ever had.
    If the weather is kind to us again this weekend I will be heading out again, as I have marked the spot we were at in the GPS. The missus was supposed to head out with us this time around but she pulled up crook. You should have seen her face when we came home with the esky full of fish!
    I hope to see some of you guys out there, and if not I will definately lob up at the next meet and greet. I especially want to meet T1, and extract some of his Brisbane River and Mud Island fishing expertise out of him, and find out what he did with that monster fish in his avatar!
    Lunatic

Hi LUNATIC

Love to catch up sometime! As for Mud expertise, man you've caught more fish in one session than i've caught in total at Mud - i'm definitely still learning that ground but have concentrated more on Wello in recent months as it's just so much closer to home, and can be just as productive!

As for the Brissie, no expert, just lucky a few times i guess but maybe we can go and fish your spot at Mud one day and then come back and do a few of my spots in the Brissie? As u may have read, my gorgeous wife is due any day now so a trip to Mud is out of the question until after bub arrives. PM your details and we'll stay in touch...

Take Care T

PS The monster was shared with some of my fishing buddies and the head is in my freezer awaiting drying, glossing, some marbles for eyes and mounting in my office...
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan