Thread: Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out!

Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out!

Hi Ausfishers!
    Well I am a Mud Island virgin no more. I got up at 0315 this morning and me and my mate headed for the Pinkinba Ramp. After a quick glance at the Brownies Beacon to Beacon we were on our way to Mud and arrived on the Northern end around 0445. Found a nice pinnicle on the sounder where it rapidly went from 9 metres to 5 metres and anchored up.
    It was a bit quiet for the first half an hour or so, then it was on!!! Squire after squire coming in to the boat. Welcome to A Grade!!
    I got busted off a couple of times by something that felt like a freight train (you could probably hear the swearing from the mainland), I also caught the biggest filthy grinner that I have ever seen. It remained thick and fast for around an hour prior to sunrise, to about an hour after, then it just stopped, which was ok because we ran out of bait. About 0730 we pulled up the anchor and pointed the bow toward home. We were treated to seeing a couple of pods of dolphins on the way back, one in the shipping channel, and one actually in the river! It was good to see as that must mean that the bay and river are pretty healthy.
    We ended up with 9 Snapper/ Squire and one tailor. We must have caught around easily thirty between us, but a lot went back. I titled this post "bagged out" as one of us must of!
    I just want to say thanks to all the guys that gave me advice about Mud Island.
    Lunatic

(picutres following)
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Re: Mud Island Virgin - Bags Out!

Me and my mate
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

My Mate with fish

The catch

Well done lunatic awesome for a mud island virgin!!!!! great pics and keep the posts coming in

Well done

What a ripper of an experience!! Well done!

Don't expect that every time though.

Like I said in my report from Thursday evening, my sounder was showing heaps of fish at all depths there on Thursday night. What a ripper season!

There are plenty of people who will have a sinking feelingin their stomach when they read your report as a lot of people try long and hard to get any success let alone that sort of Shane Warne maiden effort in new grounds.

Congratulations!

It look like the conditions were pretty stunning also...

Nice catch

I am looking at being deflowered this Sunday with a first trip to Mud. What bait/tackle did you guys have success with?

Quote Originally Posted by Lone_Wolf1977
    What bait/tackle did you guys have success with?
    It is hard to go past the humble pilchard at the moment. Squid is good also.

Well done mate, nice catch there, great pan size.

Muz
    Tight Lines

great catch good feed

Lone wolf: I am looking at being deflowered this Sunday with a first trip to Mud. What bait/tackle did you guys have success with?

Mate, we were using pilchards on ganged hooks, about a metre leader, with a small ball sinker so that it would sink slowly. I couldn't believe how they were smashing them! The larger fish swallowed most of the hooks, just inhaled them!

I can't wait to get out there again. Hmm... what's the weather doing tomorrow???

Lunatic

Great fish there

what a fantastic first mud island trip.
    great stuff

connor

Great_White

Lovely catch Lunatic, sound like you struck it rich