PB Snapper at Mud Saturday - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: PB Snapper at Mud Saturday

Re: PB Snapper at Mud Saturday

Great fish mate, bet you felt chuffed after that.

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Quality fish mate. The big fellas are certainly showing up around Mud lately. With the amount of people cosistently pulling in big ones I'm surprised there are still some around. Well done and top pics.

Rich

Hi Guys,

Thanks for all your kind words.

Adam, yeah i was suprised to see the knob on the snapper as my other 2 large ones that i have caught at mud did not have such a bump.

Chris, sorry mate. I wish you were there when I pulled it in as I was when you got your beauty a month ago. My reaction was probably the same although I was not near as loud as you. Mark did tell me to sit down as he thought I was going to pass out. I heard you did quite well on the sandies off wello that morning. We were going to go crabbing down that way but changed our mind with seabreeze changing the forecast late friday (lucky we did). Next time we go out i will show you the jighead I caught it on. It seems to suit shads only as the worms need a skinnier hook. I havent had a lot of luck with shads until now i seem to have more success on them catching flathead.

I also want to ask all the other ausfishers who fish the plastics around mud, after what point of the cast do you find most of your big fish strike?

Personally the majority of the keepers (especially the larger ones as in this case)I catch seem to strike before the plastic hits the bottom ie immediately after casting. I usually twitch the rod a couple of times on the way down. The smaller fish seem to hit it after it has been working the bottom a bit. This means I generally do not leave the plastic in the water before re-casting as long as others. I know foggy mentioned that he catches a few trailing a line out the back and holding the plastic mid water.

I am just interested in your opinions.

that is a nice fish

now thats an awesome snapper bay or offshore. must have went like a train in those shallows. congrats.
    ballsie

part_time

Great snapp craig.....that is well worth bragging about for some time yet.

Beautiful fish mate well done!!

themisses

Great fish!! Has the grin started to fade yet??

that is an awesome snapper, and to be brought in at mud isl on light line must have taken some turning!!

Well done

Hey Craig, Great catch, who caught all the Whiptails??

Benny_78

Mate, That is a brilliant fish, well done.

hey Guys,

Yeah it definitely went like a steam train, I only had about 50 yards of 8lb line left before we able to start chasing it. As i said in my original post I have a new diawa outfit with a flueger reel that loaded with 10lb braid that i am yet to blood a legal fish on. The outfit I caught this one was just a cheap outfit with ordinary 8lb nylon and my thoughts were continually of the rod breaking or leader knot giving way.

Ahh rufus, one must practice on the whiptails before you proceed to snapper this size. By the way who is still king of the grinners!!

cactus_jack

Very, Very impressive! Looks like it was a good day out there as well, beats working anytime

I would like to tell you that I caught it on my new Daiwa rod with a Fleuger reel loaded with 10 lb braid but no i didn't. Instead it was caught on cheap 2 piece rod that i have had for 5 years and a NZD$70 shimano reel which was loaded with 8lb nylon although i did have 15lb leader.

I think this best illustrates when it's your turn to catch a stonker! I like hearing about the less conventional - a lot say you have to use this and that and you need to change this and that but... the proof is in the pic's!

I remember sitting on the esplanade as young teenager with my pride and joy birthday present - a brand new Wilson General Purpose Rod and an Alvey 600B - thinking i was top sh%t! Next to me is my younger brother who is there with his coke bottle and some shonky line tied to it - he's winding in Flattie after Flattie while i'm sitting there not more than 3 metres away with nothing against my name! Yes, i had the u-beaut gear!! Hmmm...

Nonetheless, another TOP SNAPP from Mud! I fish Wello and i seem to pull the larger fish from the bottom generally although i do get a lot mid to top after a cast. Wello is not as deep as Mud though...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Great_White

Top photos I was waiting to see them.

Well done again, I hope there is one out their with my name still on him