Thread: TROUT, BARRA & HAYES FLATTIES

TROUT, BARRA & HAYES FLATTIES

Not really sure were to post this report, as its a bit of a mixed bag, but seeing the last trip (today) was down to Hayes Inlet, I guess the estuary section will do.

First the trout.
    Spent the first week of holidays with wifey in Palm Cove, just north of Cairns. This was supposed to be a rest and relaxation trip, so the fishing was allways going to be limited.
    Managed a charter out from Port Douglas on what turned out to be the best day of the week weather wise. Boat was called Norseman, a big plate mono hull similar to the Crusader type of charter vessel. With a mixed and motley looking contingent of paying passengers, the skipper put us onto some lovely coral trout, sweetlip and moses perch, with a few un-stoppables thrown in. Floating live banana fish out the back on threadline gear saw a couple of thumping big spaniards hooked, with one landed and one lost by one of the punters.
    Gear was fairly industrial compared to the off shore scene down here, with 60lb handlines, a big barrel sinker and 7/0 hook used in only 20 to 30 meters of water, but it did seem to work.
    My personal tally for the day was 4 coral trout to take home and various mixed reefies for the crew to split up between those who had a quiet day. All in all, well worth the money and very enjoyable.

Next the Barra.

After two days at home following Palm Cove, I was off to Awoonga with mate Dave to try and break the Barra duck.
    This time we stayed at Willowgrove Park at Bernaraby in a cabin, basic accomadation, but suitable for a couple of blokes who were there to fish and fish hard.
    As per normal when I do a trip away, conditions were far from perfect, with strong winds, rain showers and cold water (we couldnt find anything over 23 degrees) all combineing to produce some ordinary fishing. A bit of a troll in the arvo when we arrived resulted in some rather large catties, and we retired early to hatch a game plan for the next two days.
    We decided to concentrate on the Boyne arm of the lake, with the majority of time spent casting at bank side snags, working over any timber that lay at right angles to the bank.
    Day one saw more cattys, one half hearted swipe by a nice fish that failed to connect and one huge boil behind a lure tossed right into tiger country. Dissapointing, but talking to other fisher folk, nothing much was happening, with the low temps being blamed.
    Day two was even colder, but persistence payed off and I managed a nice little fish out of a snag on a barra classic +10, finally a Barra, and definately not the last.

Finally, Hayes Inlet Flathead.
    A quick trip down to Hayes this morning was very productive.
    Fishing an hour each side of the bottom of the tide saw me into some nice lizards, at one stage every cast resulting in either a bump or a fish, with the best going 51cm on the rule.
    There were the usual dozen or so rat fish of 30 to 35 cm, but with three in the bag and another 3 or 4 legals released, it was a great little session, and home before the nor easter kicked in.
    Softie of choice today was a squidgy fish in Gary Glitter on a 3 gm head with a #2 hook, and I used an occassional spray of Berkley scent to liven things up.

Well thats it, a bit of a ramble I suppose, but thats how my fishing has been the last couple of weeks.
    Piccys to come
    Brian

Re: TROUT, BARRA & HAYES FLATTIES

Trout

Awoonga Catamundi

First Barra, caught casting into the timber

Barra again, small but fiesty

Awoonga Structure

Daves Boat

Hayes Inlet

Three kept for the table

Best Fish

well done.

Good work, all nice fish, particularly the trout and good call on the catfish "catamundi"

Thats a good varity report. Well done .Bob.

Hello Rakey how you going.Long time no see.

TIM-DONSELAAR

good report and some nice fish there Brian [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim