WE'RE BACKKKKK!!! - WELLO PT 25/10
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: WE'RE BACKKKKK!!! - WELLO PT 25/10

WE'RE BACKKKKK!!! - WELLO PT 25/10

Hi all!

Well after 4 long arduous weeks, I managed to sneek a quick trip in before work this morning. With a curfew for 7am, ADAMY and i launched at Wello and were on the water in pristine conditions at 4am. Things were pretty quiet for the 1st 1 1/2 hours with barely a hit and only a solitary Chopper boated on SP's. Disappointed initially, ADAMY and i looked at each other simultaneously and thought 'Bingo!', whack a hook in its shoulder and send it out! So, out the back it went.

5.30am arrived and the sound we'd been waiting for - zzzzzzzzzzzz - a short battle and a nice 51cm Squirey for me! Yippee, 1st fish in a month!! a short while passed as we continued to look for the little buggers when suddenly, i'm whacked and ADAMY's Tailor out the back screams off zzzzzzzzzzzzzz! In the same moment, i'm now snagged on the bottom and ADAMY's SP rod is bent over for dear life! Double hook up for the young man! Passes his SP rod over (while i'm trying to un-snag myself while the Tailor is screaming off back to Wello Pt! Managed to land his SP rod with a 38cm Squire while poor ADAMY has been 'coralled' by the beast! Bugger! Motored over where he could still feel the head shakes when all of a sudden 'TWANG'! End of that saga Still at least some long awaited action and a fish in the esky for ADAMY.

More drifts and another 38cm and 45cm Squirey's for me. Nearing the end of our session when i'm hooked to the bottom again and ADAMY is off on his SP rod zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. A short while later and a new PB for ADAMY of 54cm - relief as he finally boated a 50 + cm specimen! Well done and high 5!!

We stopped on the way back in at 7ish and had a chat to STEVEN78 who was working similiar ground and he kindly took a few photo's of us 'Grinners' on his u-beaut wide angle camera! Surprised we didn't crack his lens really... Look forward to his post later today hopefully.

While slow and had to work hard to find them this morning, top conditions, a new PB for ADAMY and a nice feed of fresh Squire for dinner this week.

Take Care T

PS: For those who haven't ventured to the 'Going Fishing' section, fellow AF'er BLACKENED has kindly organised a M&G at his uncles restuarant in Wynnum! See http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1161476477 for further details...
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: WE'RE BACKKKKK!!! - WELLO PT 25/10

ADAMY with his PB...

My best for the morning...

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Smiles all around I reckon champion!!! Well done and congrats to Adamy. I wonder what snapped up the tailor?????
    Top post mate and might see ya at the M&G. That's just around the corner from my place. Cheers.

Richie

Top effort boys!

How much longer do you reckon the squire will be around this year?

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Hi LUNATIC!

Hope your studies are going well! Mate, i'm not sure that they disappear at all as someone i know was getting them in January at Mud this year (inc a 10kg PB on SP)! They probably slow up in numbers but i think if you put the effort in, you'll still get them. This is my 1st year chasing them and i landed my first one in March but i think the more experienced guys like WEBBY, CHEECH, FOGGY and co will probably have a better answer for us...

It was a bit harder this morning than the past few months but i was fishing 1-2 days later than i normally would for this moon phase.

Take Care T

Well done both of you, great report. Congratulations Adam on your PB. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

GES

well done guys. it's good to see a few still getting landed

You guys really do focus in on Wello, you would probably know that ground like a road map by now

How deep to you fish? Whenever I have been around Wello it seem fairly constant around 8ft?
    You say fish, I say yes please.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Top feed T. Glad to see you are back out amongst them.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Pitsta

Nice Report there Master T . & Congradulations to you & Adam on this mornings effort , I'll be picking up some javalons from Foggy this week & chewin some fuel on the weekend ( if the weather plays the game that is ) Might even get a big snap my self !!!

Thanks guys and Duz... Yeh we're beginning to know the place OK... still a while to go before I know it "pretty well". Dave if you're fishing the 8ft mark - in my opinion (and if you ask others it will depend on the weather etc.) But from our experience 8 ft is too shallow.

We fish the drop off in around 5.5 metres - 6.5 metres (roughly 15-18 ft??) (Dependant upon the level of the tide) The fish seem to "hold" in certain places - some are more productive at some times than at others... just keep moving and fish as much of it as you can.

The going was quite hard today - only 4 throwbacks and 5 keepers... we really had to work for them - with not a lot happening between fish, but in the end the rewards were there.

Have to hand it to T though... He's been there for 3 out of the last 5 increases in my PBs and 2 of those have been in his boat... one hell of a skipper!! Really knows how to put us onto fish

Sorry T... I dont suppose thats going to do anything to stop the pm requests for you to take ppl out But gotta hand it to him - the guy is a "master"

Tell you what - whatever took that tailor has a big mouth - it was a 30+ cm tailor and the thing just slammed it. There were also quite a few large boil ups and bait sprays in the area, but not many real chops.

As for which sps did the damage... ALL fish were caught on "thready killers" 5 inch gulp Jerk shads in watermelon glitter colour... thats the good news - the bad news is... T owns the last remaining 3million packets in Australia and as they're worth they're weight in gold... he wont part with them

Thanks for the great morning T... good fish and great company!!

Adam

great chewing there

Well T1 and Adam, you both had a ball obviously. Congratulations on a successful trip. Enjoy your dinners tonight.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Congratulations guys- sounded a great day- with a fresh squire for a feed -would been great to see what hit the tailor.