Thread: Back from Fraser

Back from Fraser

We managed to have 3 hot tailor sessions in the week we were up there. Found a cracker gutter north of Dundaburra. It produced 2.5kg fish 3 days in a row. It was a pleasure to cast in and get hammered without waiting to long a nice change to the fruitless missions this past winter. The size stayed consistent and were alot of fun, I was busted off a few times by streamtrains heading out of the gutter, just to big for my gear. Got a good feed and will be heding back next year.

Does any know what causes the weed on Fraser? South of happy Eli creek the water was almost choclate brown, it was so full of weed.

Fraser has to be one of the best places on earth but hell the are some hooligans up there, we were nearly taken out 3 times on the inland tracks by blokes full of grog.
    A word on the backpackers surely there has to be more regulations put in place before they are allowed to hit the beach and everybody else. They have no respect for the island or anyboby else on it. We were having some lunch at Eli giving the kids a swim and one of the overloaded troopies pulled up next to us and they all spilled out about 11 of them and started pissing in the creek up stream of all the kids. Gee i dont mind people making a buck out of the backpackers but they have to share in the responsibilty of these idiots behavior on the island. I could go on but we dont have time. They did however provide us with hours of entertainment at Indian Head by pass getting bogged and not going anywhere in a hurry.

I will try and post the photos of the fish.

Re: Back from Fraser

G'day mate.
    I know what you mean about the backpackers. We were camping at Dundaburra one year and came back to our camp site to find our camp table infested with a swarm of backpackers. I let them finish their lunch then told them to f!#k off.

That weed seems to be there the same time every year, and makes it pretty hard to fish. Good to hear you got onto a few though.

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Giday surfsup,
    Fritzy here. I just got back from Fraser yesterday myself. We had a few ripper sessions over the week too. Will post when i get the pics fixed up. Know what you mean about the idiots on fraser, i think alot of blokes think cause their on the beach they can drink and drive. We saw heaps of fellas sucking on tinnies while driving (probably with skinfuls of piss) and one fella drinking bundy straight outta the bottle. Only a matter of time before this behaviour turns tragic for themselves or for innocent others... Anyhow sounds like you had a good time, looking forward to the photos.
    Cheers Fritzy

Gidday mate

Re the Hincksia weed.....have a look at some of Slider's posts, he gives a comprehensive account about the weed and the reasons for it.

There are also some very informative posts about the backpackers and the problems some of the badly behaved minority cause.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Benny_78

Hi Surfsup

I have found that the weed tends to come in on a northerly wind. Sounds strange but those good south easters we got yesterday will do the beach a world of good. Its a real disappointment to get up to Fraser to find you cant wet a line due to the weed.

Ben.

great fish out of the one gutter you got to love that and quality fish to about the backpackers not good i havnt had a ploblem with them but i do stay away from them

Having difficulties posting pictures will have another go today.

Fellas something has gone seriously wrong with trying to post the pictures. I'll get the missus to have a go at posting the pics. Hmmmmm want to be back on Fraser!!!!

surfsup,
    i agree totally with benny 78 the weed definately comes in with those darn northerlies. good to hear you got some decent tailor this year, its a great week away just for the location and catching some quality fish is the best bonus for all the effort you put in. hope to see the pics.

as for the back packers, i've made some good friends with some i've met up there. but you know it only takes a couple of idiots to spoil their reputation. drunk aussie drivers cutting hoops included. any one who goes up there needs to respect fraser for the awesome unique place it is.

sorry about the bitch session
    ben