Coongul Creek , Fraser Island - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Coongul Creek , Fraser Island

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Re: Coongul Creek , Fraser Island

Excellent report with some stunning pics . You certainly are right about it looking very fishy. Must have felt like you were a world away.
    Makes me also keen to get a yak and get a bit more mobile. Might get in contact with ya at a later date to quiz ya a bit on some of the yaks availble. Cheers.

Richie

Great reading and top pics.

Quote Originally Posted by richieboy
    Excellent report with some stunning pics . You certainly are right about it looking very fishy. Must have felt like you were a world away.
    Makes me also keen to get a yak and get a bit more mobile. Might get in contact with ya at a later date to quiz ya a bit on some of the yaks availble. Cheers.
    Richie
    Hey Richie, the kayak is the only way you could get to see many of the locations in these pics, I doubt my old canoe could have made it up there. Happy to discuss available options anytime, send us a PM and I'll get back to ya.

nice pics mate the water looks so clear in the first few pics and nice lil breambo
    zach

gdat canoodle,

fantastic pics there mate! i love that island. never been to that creek though. just a question - how far out is the channel from the mainland there? is it very snaggy territory? thanks heaps mate.

cuzza

TIM-DONSELAAR

G'day Karl love the report mate and the pics are stunning [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim

So many photos... Makes me want to pack my bags and go there tomorrrow.

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi
    gdat canoodle,
    fantastic pics there mate! i love that island. never been to that creek though. just a question - how far out is the channel from the mainland there? is it very snaggy territory? thanks heaps mate.
    cuzza
    cuzza, from what I have seen, there are two 'channels' off the beach there, both with over 10m of water and the first would be less than 100m from the beach. I have been told that there are some coffee rock shelves and good rocky drop offs along both channels if you have the patience to sound them out and good fish holding in them too. Coongul is about 16Kms NNE of the Urangan boat harbour and a pretty easy run on a moderately rough day.

You'd be talking about maringa bommie-

Secret spots 102 (creek), and 256 (maringa) - goooooone

Just notice this post first thing on a monday morning - think I'll need anti-depressants to get thru the week now - I'm Homesick.

Great photos by the way.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

Quote Originally Posted by GBC
    You'd be talking about maringa bommie-

Secret spots 102 (creek), and 256 (maringa) - goooooone

Just notice this post first thing on a monday morning - think I'll need anti-depressants to get thru the week now - I'm Homesick.

Great photos by the way.
    Sorry GBC, it was kinda like going home for me too as I did half my high school in Hervey Bay and have often returned to Fraser since. (best/only reason to go to Hervey Bay if you ask me) Wish I was still up there sucking on a beer and waiting for the tide to come in.

thanks for the info mate.

cuzza

Beautiful part of the world, spent some time there as a kid. Good to see it is just as nice and you enjoyed yourself

great report and awesome pics. I am well and truly jealous.
    cheers mate
    Marty.

For_Steve

Great report and photos. Thanks for sharing your trip with us. Isn't it great to get away.

Regards, Brad.

Cheers, guys